Sabha plea to boost journal

Read more below

By Staff Reporter
  • Published 26.12.12

Dec. 25: The Kamrup Metro District Sahitya Sabha has found a way to keep alive the journal of Asam Sahitya Sabha.

Addressing the gathering in an open meeting on the concluding day of the three-day biennial session this afternoon, Dinesh Chandra Dutta, president of the reception committee, suggested that if all the branches of the Sabha were to buy at least 30 copies each of the journal, then the Sabha could regularise its publication.

Set up in 2011 with Dhirendra Nath Chakraborty as its founder president, the Sabha now has 50 branches.

Dutta said at present the journal is published either irregularly or with limited copies. The journal was like the mouthpiece of the Sabha and required to reach out to the common people, he added.

“It is the responsibility of the branches of the Asam Sahitya Sabha to buy the journal regularly. If each branch purchases at least 30 copies of the journal, the Sabha will be able to publish it regularly. The journal carries serious articles written by prominent personalities,” Dutta said.

The biennial session was held at Sankar Madhab Kshetra at Solapar in the Paltan Bazar area.

It was organised in association with the Guwahati Sahitya Sabha.

During the three days, the Sabha organised a host of programmes, including a book release, poets’ meet and cultural programmes.

Today, the newly elected committee of the Sabha took charge for the next two-year term. In an election held last month, Raju Hazarika, Dimbeswar Pathak and Prafulla Barman were elected new president, secretary and vice-president respectively.

Renowned linguist Ramesh Pathak inaugurated the meeting. In his speech, Pathak appealed to Asam Sahitya Sabha to give more exposure to the young generation. He also highlighted how many English words have crept into the Assamese language.

The Sabha this morning conferred the title of Prajnaratna on writer Nirupama Borgohain for her lifelong contribution to the Assamese language.

Twelve other people were felicitated for their contribution to the culture and society of the state.

It also declared the results of its various literary competitions. Bipasha Kherkotary, Nilima Bora and Nandita Kalita came first, second and third for their novels Lagan, Moidamor Mauseng and Ebuku Prem Bhora Hridoy respectively in the novel-writing competition.

Sasadhar Adhikari, Pankaj Dutta and Umakanta Bora were first, second and third in the short story competition and Basanta Kumar Bhattacharjya, Anindita Kalita and Pradip Kumar Bora came first, second and third in the poetry competition respectively.

KMDSS has selected Geetanagar Sahitya Sabha as its best branch.