Home / Jharkhand / 28 IIT (ISM) faculty members in world's top 2 per cent scientists: Stanford University list

28 IIT (ISM) faculty members in world's top 2 per cent scientists: Stanford University list

The exhaustive list has 1,59,683 persons with nearly 1,500 scientists, doctors, and engineers in India
IIT(ISM) in Dhanbad.
IIT(ISM) in Dhanbad.
Picture by Gautam Dey

Praduman Choubey   |   Dhanbad   |   Published 29.10.21, 06:18 PM

At least 28 faculty members of IIT (ISM) have figured among the top 2 per cent scientists in a global list compiled by Standford University.

Every year the Stanford University of US releases data for the top two per cent of researchers across the world based on their research publications which are published by Elsevier’s publisher. The list of scientists prepared by Stanford University on the basis of Standardized Citation Indicators including, information on citation, overall impact of citation, etc.

As per the method, all researchers are classified into 22 scientific fields and 176 sub-fields. Field- and subfield-specific percentiles are also provided for all scientists who have published at least five papers.

Giving details, Rajni Singh, associate dean (IRAA) Media and branding of IIT (ISM), said the exhaustive list of scientists in various disciplines has 1,59,683 persons from across the world including notables from India like RA Mashelkar, former director-general of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research; Ahmad Kamal, pro-vice-chancellor of Jamia Hamdard University, etc.

The IIT (ISM) researchers include - Ajay Mandal of Petroleum Engineering; Himanshu Gupta of Management Studies; Vineet Kumar Rai and Prashant Kumar Sharma of Applied Physics; Subodh Kumar Maiti, SR Samadder and Gurdeep Singh of Environmental Science & Engineering; Suman Dutta of Chemical Engineering; Sarat Kumar Chandra and Sekhar Chandra Dutta of Civil Engineering.

Also included are - PK Jana, GP Biswas, Tarachand Amgoth of Computer Science Engineering;  GS Seth, Ranjeet Kumar Mukhopadhyay, Amron Chattopadhyay of Mathematics and Computing; V Mukherjee and Sukanta Das of Electrical Engineering; Tapan Kumar Sengupta; Subrata Kumar Ghosh and Amit Rai Dixit of Mechanical Engineering; Raghvendra Kumar Chaudhary and Sanjeev Kumar Raghuwanshi of Electronics and Communication Engineering.

A maximum of four members of IIT (ISM) that are included in the list is from the Mining Engineering department including Partha Sarthi Paul, Devi Prasad Mishra, AK Mishra and Upendra Kumar Singh of the Mining Engineering department.

Talking to The Telegraph Online on Friday, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering Department, Amit Rai Dixit, who also figured in the list, said, “The survey has been launched by Stanford University since last year and the selection has been made on individual achievement in the field of each research publication of each scientist.”

Dixit, who coordinated the project for the development of a disinfection chamber developed by IIT (ISM) during last year can destroy micro-organisms like Covid-19 using ultraviolet radiations, further said, “The inclusion of 28 faculty members of IIT (ISM) marks an achievement for IIT (ISM) in the field of research and development.”

Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.