Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Anil Ambani, Mahajan, Matondkar, Rekha cast vote in Mumbai

Polling is underway since 7am across the state's 17 Lok Sabha seats where 3.11 crore voters are eligible to exercise their democratic right

By PTI in Mumbai
  • Published 29.04.19, 11:25 AM
  • Updated 29.04.19, 11:25 AM
  • a min read
Congress's candidate from Mumbai North constituency Urmila Matondkar shows her inked marked finger after casting vote during the 4th phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, at a polling station in Mumbai on Monday, April 29, 2019. PTI

BJP MP Poonam Mahajan, Congress nominee Urmila Matondkar, industrialist Anil Ambani and actor Rekha were among the early voters in Mumbai Monday during the fourth and final phase of Lok Sabha polls in Maharashtra.

State education minister Vinod Tawde, BJP candidate from Mumhai-North East Manoj Kotak and Congress nominee from Mumbai-Central Eknath Gaikwad also exercised their franchise in the initial hours.

Polling is underway since 7 am across the state's 17 Lok Sabha seats where 3.11 crore voters are eligible to exercise their democratic right.

Polling is being held in Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik (North Maharashtra), Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai-North, Mumbai-North West, Mumbai-North Central, Mumbai-North East, Mumbai-South and Mumbai-South Central in the Mumbai region, Maval and Shirur in Pune district, and Shirdi in Ahmednagar district.

Union minister Subhash Bhamre (contesting from Dhule), and Congress leaders Milind Deora (Mumbai-South) and Matondkar (Mumbai-North) are among the key candidates in the state.

Deora is pitted against sitting Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant while Matondkar is taking on BJP MM Gopal Shetty.

The prominent candidates also include Congress' Priya Dutt from Mumbai-North Central and NCP chief Sharad Pawar's grandnephew Parth Pawar from Maval seat.

In Mumbai-North East seat, where sitting BJP MP Kirit Somaiya has been denied a ticket, the main contest is between the party nominee Manoj Kotak and NCP's Sanjay Dina Patil.

Saffron allies BJP and Shiv Sena are contesting three seats each out of total six in Mumbai.

The Congress nominees are in the fray in five of these seats while the NCP has fielded its candidate in one seat.

Maharashtra sends 48 MPs to Lok Sabha, the second highest after Uttar Pradesh which has 80 parliamentary seats.

Polling for the previous three phases in Maharashtra was held on April 11 (seven seats), April 18 (10 seats) and April 23 (14 seats).