Home / West-bengal / Trinamul MPs who were not renominated

Trinamul MPs who were not renominated

Mamata Banerjee said Subrata Bakshi wanted to opt out in order to work for the party
 Subrata Bakshi
Subrata Bakshi
The Telegraph picture

The Telegraph   |   Calcutta   |   Published 12.03.19, 09:12 PM

Calcutta South: Subrata Bakshi

Reason: Mamata said Bakshi wanted to opt out in order to work for the party

Cooch Behar: Partha Pratim Ray (won in a 2016 bypoll after sitting MP Renuka Sinha died)

Reason: Alleged role in Trinamul internal feud, especially during panchayat polls. Mamata said if he stayed on in the party, he would be given a suitable role

Krishnagar: Tapas Pal

Reason: Ill health, named in several court cases, politically ineffective for some time, said sources

Ranaghat: Tapas Mandal

Reason: He was excluded to make way for slain MLA Satyajit Biswas’s wife, according to sources

Basirhat: Idris Ali

Reason: Mamata said he would be fielded in Uluberia East Assembly seat

Jadavpur: Sugata Bose

Reason: The chief minister said Bose did not get permission to contest from Harvard University where he teaches

Jhargram: Uma Soren

Reason: Mamata said she was a bright and young one-term MP who wanted to work for the party

Midnapore: Sandhya Roy

Reason: The Trinamul chief said Sandhya wanted work that did not require her to be on the move

Bishnupur: Soumitra Khan

Reason: Expulsion from Trinamul, after which he joined the BJP

Bolpur: Anupam Hazra

Reason: He joined the BJP following expulsion from Trinamul

TMC candidates who were defeated in 2014 and not fielded again

Darjeeling: Bhaichung Bhutia (no longer in Trinamul)

Raiganj: Pabitra Ranjan Das Munshi

Malda North: Soumitra Roy

Jangipur: Sheikh Nurul Islam

Behrampore: Indranil Sen (now a minister of state in the Mamata cabinet)

Murshidabad: Mohammad Ali

Asansol: Dola Sen (now a Rajya Sabha member)

TMC candidate lost in 2014 but fielded again

Malda South: Moazzem Hossain

Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.