Home / West-bengal / How we voted

How we voted

Trinamul Congress may have retained the Barasat seat in the recent Lok Sabha elections but the Bidhannagar Assembly constituency once again sided with the BJP.
Officials walk into the counting centre at Barasat College on May 23.
Officials walk into the counting centre at Barasat College on May 23.
(Sudeshna Banerjee)

The Telegraph   |   Published 30.05.19, 05:53 PM

The Telegraph Salt Lake brings you a booth-by-booth analysis

Fun facts in results


Voters Too few

The least populated polling station in our immediate neighbourhood is Part 201. Red Cross Building in Sector V is where as few as 176 voters were scheduled to cast their vote. A predominantly office area, DN Block has as few as 11 voters while EP and GP blocks together have 10 voters!

It’s a Tie!

Counting for the P&T community centre in CC Block threw up a tie, with both BJP and Trinamul getting 50 votes each. Congress got nine and Forward Bloc five votes.

Highest margin: 2,258 votes at Ward 31 (BE, BF, CE, CF, DE, DF, Central Park, AE) in favour of BJP

Lowest margin: 71 votes at Ward 35 (Sukantanagar, Nalban, Nicco Park, Sector IV, Milannagar, Nabapally) in favour of BJP 

Nod to NOTA

NOTA (none of the above) got the maximum votes — 229 — at Ward 36 (comprising (Chhainabi, Kulipara, Uttargarumara, Durgabhasan, Chakerbheri, Ghoshpara, Khasmahal, Trinath Pally, Naobhanga, No 4 Bheri, Shantinagar, Makalpota etc).

Jump in margin

In 2014, the BJP’s lead in the Bidhannagar Assembly constituency area was 6,489. This time, they have almost trebled the lead in the area by getting a margin of 18,916 votes over Trinamul Congress.

Shift in fortunes

In the Barasat seat, from an over-all third in 2014, BJP has increased its vote share to become the party with the second largest support. If Forward Bloc bagged 3,52,246 votes in 2014, this time it got 1,24,068 votes. Congress had got 40,660 votes in 2014 and this time 37,277.

Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.