Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

Four new districts for Tripura - Plan for six more subdivisions to decentralise administration

Read more below

  • Published 27.10.11

Agartala, Oct. 26: Tripura is all set to have four more districts, six more subdivisions and five more blocks as part of a major administrative reorganisation planned by the state government.

The official notification to this effect will be made soon and the new units will come into existence with effect from January 21, 2012 — statehood day.

Unveiling the reorganisation plan, chief minister Manik Sarkar told reporters last night that the present North Tripura district would be divided to create Unakoti district, comprising Kailasahar and new Kumarghat subdivisions, with the North district remaining the headquarters of the new district. North Tripura will now comprise only two subdivisions — Kanchanpur and Dharmanagar, the latter being the new district headquarters.

Sarkar said the present West Tripura district would be divided to create two more districts — Khowai and Sipahijala. While Khowai district would comprise the present Khowai subdivision (district headquarters) and Teliamura subdivision, the new Sipahijala district, headquartered in Bisramganj, would comprise Bishalgarh, Sonamura and the newly created Jampuijala subdivision, he said.

He added that the South Tripura district would be divided to create a new district — Gomati, comprising present Udaipur, Amarpur and the newly created Karbook subdivisions. Its headquarters would remain at Udaipur, he said, adding that the South Tripura district would remain confined to Sabroom, Shantir Bazar and Belonia subdivisions, the last being the new district headquarters.

The chief minister said the six new subdivisions would be Mohanpur and Jirania in West Tripura, Jampuijala in the newly created Sipahijala district, Panisagar in North Tripura, Kumarghat in Unakoti and Karbook in the newly created Gomati district.

The reorganisation envisages creation of five new blocks — Lefunga in West Tripura, Jubaraj Nagar in North Tripura, Durga Chowmuhuni in Dhalai and Jolaibari and Shilacherri in South Tripura district.

While announcing the plan, Sarkar said it was designed to “further decentralise” the administration and take it to the people at the grassroots level. “We believe in decentralisation of power to ensure quick access of people to government work and benefits of development. We decided on the reorganisation with a view to give more benefits to the people,” Sarkar said.

The reorganisation plan announced by the chief minister has evoked favourable reaction from even the Opposition parties.

Opposition leader Ratanalal Nath said, “We welcome this move as it will take the administration to the people at the grassroots level in hilly interiors of the state. However, these districts, subdivisions and blocks are being launched without creating necessary infrastructure beforehand. We hope that the state government will create infrastructure as soon as possible.”