regular-article-logo Tuesday, 26 September 2023

Sourav Ganguly unlikely to seek second term as President

Either Roger Binny or Rajeev Shukla could replace Dada after he completes his term later this month

Our Web Desk Published 07.10.22, 09:05 PM
Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly Twitter/@CricktaleO

Current BCCI president Sourav Ganguly is unlikely to seek a second term, if media reports are to go by.

If everything falls in place, either ex-Indian cricketer Roger Binny or BCCI vice-president Rajeev Shukla will succeed him.


Ganguly will complete his tenure later this month and despite the Supreme Court directive that allows him an extension, he could relinquish the coveted post.

However, BCCI secretary Jay Shah would seek a second term instead of vying for the president's post.

A report in Hindi daily Dainik Jagran states that two meetings involving senior executives like Shukla and former BCCI president N Srinivasan and current office bearers were held in a hotel in New Delhi and residence of an important Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) politician.

It was decided in meeting that Dada would step down after the expiry of his current term.

There is a buzz that Ganguly would contest for the post of ICC chairman and with the 50-over World Cricket Cup slated to be held in India in 2023, the board would opt of its own man to helm the apex body in the cricketing world.

Ganguly would be assured of full support from cricket boards, if he decides to throw his hat in the ring.

Incidentally, Ganguly and Shah got a breather from Supreme Court which waived off the Justice RM Lodha Committee-mandated three-year “cooling-off” period for all office-bearers who had served two consecutive terms of three years each at the national body and any State association.

The ruling by the bench of Justice D.Y. Chandrachud and Justice Hima Kohli ensured Ganguly and Shah could remain in their posts for six years from the date they assumed charge — October 23, 2019. Their cooling-off period will begin only after that. Under the Lodha panel norms, Sourav’s and Shah’s tenures as president and secretary had technically ended in June and July 2020 because of their earlier cumulative stints in the Cricket Association of Bengal and Gujarat Cricket Association, respectively, and thereafter in the BCCI.

But the duo continued on an ad hoc basis pending a decision of the Board’s earlier application in the apex court for approving the amended constitution which sought to waive off the three-year cooling-off period fixed by the Lodha committee and approved by the top court in 2016.

The bench of Justice Chandrachud and Justice Kohli modified the 2016 directions to the extent that now all BCCI office-bearers can hold office for two consecutive terms of three years each, even if they had served earlier for three years in some State association.

In other words, the earlier direction that the cooling-off period would kick in after a combined tenure of six years put in the BCCI and a State association would no longer apply. However, the bench, instead of restricting the amended rules as sought by the BCCI only to the president and secretary, said they would now apply across the board as suggested by the amicus curiae and senior advocate Maninder Singh.

Follow us on: