Monday, 30th October 2017

E- paper

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Umpires made error of judgement in the final says Simon Taufel

'It’s a clear mistake… it’s an error of judgement. They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six'

By TT Bureau in Calcutta
  • Published 16.07.19, 4:25 AM
  • Updated 16.07.19, 11:58 AM
  • a min read
  •  
The ball deflects off Ben Stokes’s bat on Sunday. (Reuters)

Simon Taufel, a former ICC Elite Panel umpire, said that the on-field umpires’ decision to award six runs for the controversial overthrow in the final over of England’s chase against New Zealand in World Cup 2019 final is an “error of judgement”.

Taufel told foxsports.com. au that the officials standing in the World Cup final erred in awarding six runs, instead of five, to England for an overthrow, an observation that the ICC refused to comment on.

Luck smiled on England midway through the final over of their innings when a throw from New Zealand fielder Martin Guptill deflected off the bat of Stokes and ran to the boundary. England tied the match and the ensuing Super Over before winning on boundary count on Sunday.

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena and South African Marius Erasmus were the on-field umpires for the pulsating game in which England were chasing 242 in the regulation 50 overs.

“It’s a clear mistake… it’s an error of judgement. They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six,” Taufel, a five-time ICC Umpire of the Year, said.

The ICC refused to make a comment with a spokesperson simply saying: “The umpires take decisions in the field of play with their interpretations of the rules and we don’t comment on any decisions as a matter of policy.”

Law 19.8 of the ICC rules, pertaining to ‘overthrow or wilful act of fielder’, states: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

Australian Taufel is now a part of the MCC’s laws sub-committee that makes the rules governing cricket.

The bizarre incident took place in the fourth ball of the final over at the Lord’s. TV replays showed Adil Rashid and Stokes had not yet crossed for their second run when Guptill released the ball from the deep.