Home / India / ABVP wins 3 posts in Delhi University Students' Union polls

ABVP wins 3 posts in Delhi University Students' Union polls

While ABVP bagged the posts of president, vice-president and joint secretary, NSUI won the secretary's post
Students queue up with their identity cards to cast their votes for the Delhi University Students' Union elections, at Miranda House College in North Campus, in New Delhi, Thursday, September 12, 2019

PTI   |   New Delhi   |   Published 13.09.19, 11:14 AM

The RSS-affiliated ABVP on Friday won three posts, including that of the president, in Delhi University Students' Union (DUSU) polls while the Congress-backed NSUI bagged the secretary's post.

Ashwit Dahiya of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad defeated National Students Union of India's Chetna Tyagi for the top post by a margin of over 19,000 votes.

The posts of vice-president and joint secretary were won by ABVP's Pradeep Tanwar and Shivangi Kharwal by a margin of 8,574 and 2,914 votes, respectively.

NSUI bagged the secretary's post with its candidate Ashish Lamba defeating ABVP's Yogi Rathee by a margin of 2,053 votes.

The voter turnout in the polls on Thursday was recorded at 39.90 per cent, over four per cent points down from the last year. The election saw a 44.46 per cent voter turnout in 2018.

The polling for four positions of the DUSU ended amid allegations of EVM malfunctioning. Sixteen candidates, including four women, were in the fray and 52 polling centres were set up.

Over 1.3 lakh students were eligible to cast their votes. As many as 144 EVMs were used for the students' union polls and 137 were used for college union polls.


Copyright © 2020 The Telegraph. All rights reserved.