MY KOLKATA EDUGRAPH
ADVERTISEMENT
regular-article-logo Wednesday, 29 May 2024

Asset declaration: Street vendor offers insight on whether lives have changed for better or worse under Modi

Asset declaration is an occasional election feature that seeks to bring out through a question-and-answer session whether lives have changed for the better or the worse in the past five years

Basant Kumar Mohanty Published 23.04.24, 09:27 AM
PM Modi

PM Modi File picture

Gyan Singh runs a panipuri and chaat stall on a trolley on the roadside in Lakadganj, Nagpur. Coming from Bhind in Madhya Pradesh in 2006, he started selling panipuri and chaat in Nagpur.

Name & Age:

ADVERTISEMENT

Gyan Singh Khushwaha, 58

Education &
Profession:

Class IX; runs a chaat shop

Family & Place:

Wife Ram Kumari Khushwaha (52), daughters Santoshi (29, married) and Kiran Khushwaha (23), and sons Milan Singh Khushwaha (27, married and staying separately) and Manish Singh Khushwaha (19); lives on rent in Lakadganj, Nagpur.

Do you earn more or less, compared with 2019?

More. I used to earn around Rs 300 a day in 2019. Now I earn about Rs 500 a day. It comes to around Rs 70,000 additional income in a year. My children have started earning too, which adds to the family income.

Do you save more or less compared with 2019?

More. About Rs 30,000 annually.

What things does your house now have that it did not in 2019?

I purchased a plot of land on the outskirts of Nagpur for Rs 3 lakh four years ago. I got my daughter married off and spent Rs 3.5 lakh. For my son’s marriage, I spent Rs 2.5 lakh.

What things does your neighbourhood have that it did not in 2019?

The lanes and sub-lanes have been repaired and laid in concrete. People have been given housing assistance and toilet assistance.

Have central/state govt schemes made any difference to your life? How?

Yes. I was unable to properly decorate and light up my chaat trolley. I took a loan of Rs 10000 under the PM-SVANidhi scheme meant for street vendors. It provides loans at low interest. I paid the loan and took another loan of Rs 20,000 which I have used on this stall. I will repay this and take another loan of Rs 50,000.

Do your children go to school?

Not any more. Three of my children have completed their studies from government schools and government colleges. My younger son appeared in Class XII exams this year and is doing a temporary job to contribute to the family income before he gets admission in college.

Do you encounter more corruption or less in your daily life? Can you cite from personal experience areas where you are directly affected by corruption?

My dealings with government officials are very limited. For taking my loans, I did not face any corruption.

Nagpur voted on April 19

Follow us on:
ADVERTISEMENT