The Telegraph
Friday , January 22 , 2016

Three from Assam in finals


Guwahati, Jan. 21: Anurag Buragohain, Lenien Jamir and Raina Zaffar of Assam entered the final in their respective events in the SAI-AITA Super Series Tennis Tournament for under-16 boys and girls at All-Assam Tennis Association Complex here. In the boys' final, Anurag will fight for the title against top seed Sheik Md Iftikhar of Delhi tomorrow.

In the semi-finals today, Anurag upset second seed Sarthak Sudan of Delhi 4-0, 4-2 and Iftikhar made short work of Abhishek Mangale of Maharashtra 4-1, 4-0.

In the girls' singles, Lenien will lock horns with Raina Zaffar in the final tomorrow. Top seed Raina today got the better of Khushi Shah of Gujarat 5-4 (2), 4-0 in the semi-finals today. Second seed Lenien eased past Megha Roy of Bengal 4-0, 4-1.

Lenien and Raina will also vie for the doubles title, clashing against second seed pair of Khushi and Aishwarya Andalkar (Maharashtra) in the final.

In the semi-finals, the top seed Assam duo beat another Assam tandem of Pratiksha Saikia and Harshita Bora 6-0, 6-3, while Khushi and Aishwarya overcame Assam girls Janashree Saikia and Kristi Boro 6-1, 1-6, 10-5.

In the boys' doubles final, Assam's unseeded Udit Gogoi and Arith Bhuyan will clash with Arka Ganguly and Abhishek Mangale of Maharashtra. In the round of four, Udit and Arith upset fourth seed duo of Anurag Agarwal (Bengal) and Kabir Hans (Odisha) 4-6, 7-6 (5), 10-6, while Arka and Abhishek overcame third seed Aditya Nikam (Maharashtra) and Ayush Poddar (Delhi) 4-6, 6-3, 10-8.

Ranji probables: The Assam Cricket Association today named 27 probables, barring off-spinner Arlen Konwar, for the trials at Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati from tomorrow to select the team for the Ranji Trophy quarter-finals against Punjab at Valsad in Gujarat from February 3. The probables are Gokul Sharma, Arun Kartick (wk), Syed Mohammad, Amit Verma, Swarupam Purkayastha, Pallav Das, Amit Sinha, Krishna Das, Abu Nechim Ahmed, Arup Das, Pritam Das, Dhiraj Goswami, Wasiqur Rahman (wk), Rajdeep Das (wk), Jogeswar Bhumij, Shuhel Rahman, Chanakya Sarma, Rishav Das, Kunal Saikia (wk), Mrinmoy Dutta, Sujoy Tarafdar, Abhijit Singha Roy, Rahul Hazarika, Tarjinder Singh, Mantu Das, Ritupan Phatowali and Prasanta Sonowal.

 More stories in North East

  • Protest on green tribunal order
  • Court call after hookah auction
  • New thrush species named after Salim Ali
  • Xankardeb plays to go global in English
  • Guwahati girl as Android game-changer
  • Delhi tapped on teachers
  • BJP details Modi's visit
  • Areida plea for afforable housing
  • Art on eggshells in time of bird flu
  • SC ponders over powers of governor
  • Sonowal connectivity pledge
  • Mill's staff launch protest
  • Artists spread peace message
  • Lawyer dies in mishap
  • Meghalaya to contest HC ruling
  • Plans to celebrate Netaji's birthday
  • Mukul vows better future for all
  • Kokrajhar kids worst hit: Cop
  • Bodo literary meet begins
  • Website boost for small tea growers
  • Empty chairs greet Gaikhangam
  • Refinery workers seek subway