The Telegraph
Monday , August 4 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Viking SC emerge champions

Hailakandi, Aug. 3: Viking Sports Club won the Ashutosh-Belarani Choudhury first division Football League of Karimganj District Sports Association (DSA) and Public Works Department Recreational Club finished runners-up in Karimganj yesterday.

Viking tallied 21 points from nine matches while PWD scored 17 from an equal number of matches.

In the last match at DSA ground yesterday, PWD defeated Riyal Milan 4-2.

Pappu Chakraborty scored two goals in the 16th and 71st minutes, including a penalty kick conversion for the latter. Rahul Das and Akram Uddin scored a goal each in the 45th and 60th minutes respectively.

Rajkumar Deb and Joinal Uddin scored a goal each for Riyal Milan in the 20th and 75th minutes respectively.

Two red cards were shown in the match. Debashis Nath of Riyal Milan and Biswajit Das of PWD were given marching orders midway through the match for unsporting behaviour.

On Friday, Viking finished top in the league, blanking Riyal Milan 4-0 in their last match.

Singlal Lakshman Halam scored two goals in the 59th and 77th minutes.

Vietkam Sanga scored one in the 72nd minute and Siman Choroi scored the last goal in the 82nd minute.

DSA president Ketaki Prasad Dutta and other office-bearers gave the prizes away.