The Telegraph
Saturday , July 19 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

160 to play in rail meet

Guwahati, July 18: NF Railway will organise the 62nd All-India Railway Table Tennis Championship at its indoor stadium here from July 21 to 25.

A total of 160 participants, including 90 men, are expected to represent different zonal teams of the Indian Railways in the tournament.

Leading national players like Anindita Chakraborty, Shreya Ghosh, Pallavi Kundu, Anirban Nandi, E. Pravakaran, Souvik Kar and others have confirmed participation in the tournament, hosts NF Railway Sports Association said today.

The home side are the defending champions in the womenís team event. Besides, Takeme Sarkar of NF Railway will seek to retain the womenís singles title.

Anirban Nandi of South Eastern Railway will be the defending champion in menís singles while his team, SE Railway, are the defending champions in the menís team event.

Hosts NF Railway will look forward to Avik Das, who has played in the Youth Olympics and Youth Asian Games, to make a mark in the menís event.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Sarah Dev triumphs
  • BJP seeks inquiry into 'potato crisis'
  • NFR win opener
  • NREGS cash eludes councils
  • AGP
  • Garo hills' coal miners protest tribunal ban
  • Bangladeshi apprehended
  • Gogoi: Cong base secure in Assam
  • Bodo Sabha team in Delhi
  • CSWO glare on dual-post lawmakers
  • Missing constable resurfaces
  • Focus on better connectivity
  • Delay dogs track conversion
  • Bhowlaguri canal choked
  • NTPC workers protest
  • Police in public relations drill
  • BJP clears stand on asylum
  • Left Front set to sweep rural polls in Tripura
  • GMDA notice to beel encroachers
  • Encephalitis claims two in Kokrajhar
  • Broken cameras aid bombers
  • 160 to play in rail meet