The Telegraph
Tuesday , July 15 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

President appoints five new governors

New Delhi, July 14: President Pranab Mukherjee today appointed five new governors including former UP chief minister Kesari Nath Tripathi as governor of West Bengal.

Tripathi will occupy the vacancy created after M.K Narayanan resigned as Bengal governor.

Another major appointment today was of former petroleum minister Ram Naik as governor of Uttar Pradesh.

Balramji Dass Tandon has been appointed governor of Chhattisgarh after Shekhar Dutt resigned while Om Prakash Kohli has replaced Kamla Beniwal as the governor of Gujarat. Beniwal was transferred as Mizoram governor recently.

The appointments will take effect from the dates the incumbents assume charge of their respective offices, a Rashtrapati Bhavan communiqué said today.

The President has also appointed Padmanabha Balakrishna Acharya as governor of Nagaland following the resignation of former CBI director, Ashwani Kumar. Acharya’s posting on Governor’s Hill appeared to have been linked to his experience as a party office-bearer who dealt with Nagaland as election in-charge in the run-up to elections this year.

Acharya will also discharge functions as governor of Tripura, in addition to his own duties, until regular arrangements for the office of the Tripura governor are made, the communiqué said. The President today accepted the resignation of Vakkom Purushothaman as governor of Tripura.

Earlier, Devanand Konwar had resigned as Tripura governor and was replaced by Purushothaman.

Goa governor and former SPG chief, Bharat Wanchoo has also resigned. Several governors, including Margaret Alva of Rajasthan, Beniwal, Janaki Ballabh Patnaik of Assam, D.Y. Patil of Bihar and Jagannath Pahadia of Haryana are due to retire in the coming months.

Other senior Congressmen who remain governors include former Nagaland chief minister S.C. Jamir (Odisha), former Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit (Kerala) and former Union Home Ministry in UPA-1, Shivraj Patil (Punjab).