The Telegraph
Monday , July 14 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Mecon wins eco award

Ranchi, July 13: Metallurgical and Engineering Consultants (Mecon) Limited, a Ranchi-based public sector undertaking (PSU), has bagged the prestigious Golden Peacock Eco Innovation Award 2014 for its desalination plant at Nemmeli, Tamil Nadu, to serve potable water to residents of South Chennai city.

Mecon CMD A.K. Tyagi received the award from justice Arijit Pasayat, former Supreme Court judge, during the 16th World Congress on Environment Management in New Delhi on Friday.

The PSUís chief of corporate communication Rana Chakravarty said Mecon won the award for its involvement in the planning, designing and execution of the Nemmeli desalination plant that helped Chennai Metropolitan Water Supply and Sewage Board augment supply of drinking water to the cityís residents at a cheaper cost.

Inaugurated by Tamil Nadu chief minister J. Jayalalitha in February 2013, the plant is capable of processing seawater to produce 100 million litres of drinking water daily at the rate of 1.9 paise per litre.

Situated 36km south of Chennai, the plant draws seawater through a one-km-long, 16m-daimeter pipeline and processes it through a couple of steps to make it fit for human consumption. The plantís indigenously designed marine intake and pre-treatment system use filters, followed by reverse osmosis membrane and post-treatment facilities to reintroduce carbons and minerals in the treated water, Chakravarty added.

The wastewater is sent back to the sea through another pipeline placed 8 metre below the sea level.

Apart from Mecon, six other organisations, including ONGC and Shoppers Stop Limited, also received the eco innovation award.

Besides eco innovation, Golden Peacock awards are also given to selected private and government organisations in two other categories ó environment management and occupational health and safety.

According to sources, the Golden Peacock award secretariat had received a total of 473 applications for the three categories, out of which 208 were short-listed for critical scrutiny for the final selection through a three-tier assessment process.