The Telegraph
Saturday , July 12 , 2014
CIMA Gallary


- Meet the unshakeable official machinery

Some of the most senior officials in Bengal, not to mention chief minister Mamata Banerjee, shared a platform with Trinamul MLA Manirul Islam on Thursday in Bolpur. Trinamul Birbhum president Anubrata Mondal (not in the picture) also graced the public meeting that followed an administrative event. Both Manirul and Anubrata figure on FIRs related to separate murders. There is no law against sharing a stage with those accused of murder but the same officials have not yet stirred to uphold the law — despite the high court asking searching questions — after Trinamul MP Tapas Paul threatened to rape and shoot rivals.

The Telegraph presents the best and the brightest of Bengal in whose hands the state can sleep in peace like Rip Van Winkle. No, the officers are not standing in deference to Manirul; they usually do so when the chief minister speaks.

1. Gopal Krishna, power secretary

2. C.M. Bachhawat, industry secretary

3. A.K. Singh, land reforms commissioner

4. Manirul Islam, Trinamul MLA

5. Alapan Bandyopadhyay, transport and housing secretary

6. Atri Bhattacharya, information and cultural affairs secretary

7. Basudeb Banerjee, home secretary

8. Sanjay Mitra, chief secretary

9. G.M.P. Reddy, DGP, Bengal police

10. Saurav Das, panchayat and rural development secretary

11. Malay De, health secretary

12. Mamata Banerjee, chief minister and home minister

13. Subrata Biswas, agriculture secretary

14. Chandan Sinha, environment and forest secretary

15. Aariz Aftab, cooperation secretary

16. P.M. Gandhi, DM, Birbhum

17. Saidul Islam, minority affairs secretary

18. Rajesh Pande, sports and youth affairs secretary

Picture by Indrajit Roy