The Telegraph
Tuesday , July 1 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Cops play musical chairs

- Another IPS shuffle, 36 officers get new postings

Patna, June 30: The government continued to make changes in the police brass, transferring 36 IPS officers today barely a week after it unceremoniously removed Abhayanand as director-general and installed P.K. Thakur in his place.

Two additional directors-general and four inspectors-general of police were among the 36 officers given new assignments. Six deputy inspectors-general were promoted to the rank of inspector-general. Amrit Raj would be the new DIG of the central range, which comprises Patna and Nalanda districts.

The appointment of Gupteshwar Pandey as additional director-general (headquarters) in place of Ravinder Kumar has created a flutter in the police circles. Pandey had hogged the limelight after he was accused of his alleged partisan role in the investigation of a 13-year-old girl student’s kidnapping from Muzaffarpur in north Bihar when he was posted as the IG of Tirhut zone.

The mysterious disappearance of the girl from her Jawaharlal Road residence in September 2012 is being probed by the Central Bureau of Investigation. Sources said the girl’s parents had accused the then IG of shielding the alleged abductors, a charge later denied by Pandey.

Pandey’s political clout is an open secret. Prior to the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, he had opted for voluntary retirement from service — the buzz in police circles, never confirmed by Pandey, was that he was in the running for an election ticket from Buxar. However, he didn’t finally accept VRS.

Pandey had also been accused of appearing in the law examination from BRA Bihar University, Muzaffarpur, without obtaining requisite permission from the government. An inquiry in this case is still on.

Pandey’s predecessor Ravinder Kumar has been shifted to the vigilance investigating bureau as its ADG. Kumar would also look after the post of ADG, BMP, the post Pandey had been handling since December 2013. Vinay Kumar, who was earlier transferred and made IG (provision) and homeguards, has been shifted to the criminal investigation department in the same capacity.

Praveen Vashishtha, who was recently appointed IG, wireless and technical services, has been shifted to the state human rights commission. The previous order transferring him as IG, wireless and technical services, has been withdrawn. Jitendra Kumar, who was posted as IG of Bhagalpur zone, would head the special vigilance unit, an anti-corruption wing of the state government, in the same rank. S.M. Khopade, who was last week transferred as IG of Muzaffarpur zone, would be the new IG (operation), the post earlier held by Amit Kumar.

Both Vashishtha and Vinay Kumar are considered close to former director-general of police Abhayanand.

The government has also promoted six DIGs to IG rank and posted them. Some police officers considered close to former chief minister Nitish Kumar have got plum postings.

Amit Kumar Jain, who was earlier posted as DIG, Shahabad range, has been promoted and made IG, homeguards and fire services. Similarly, former DIG, Munger, Sudhanshu Kumar, has been promoted and posted as IG (provision) in the police headquarters.

Former DIG, Gaya range, B.S. Meena, has been promoted and appointed IG, Bhagalpur. Parasnath, who was earlier posted as DIG, Purnea, has been promoted and made IG, Tirhut range. DIG, central range, Sunil Kumar has been promoted and posted as IG, budget, appeal and welfare, in the police headquarters.

Outgoing DIG (Tirhut range) Amrit Raj would join as DIG, Central range (Patna). Raj had also served as senior SP of Patna before being promoted to DIG rank. Ashok Kumar Singh, DIG, vigilance cell in the electricity department, has been promoted and appointed IG, state crime record bureau. P.K. Srivastava, DIG, Bettiah, has been shifted to Magadh range in the same capacity. Umashankar Sudhanshu, DIG, special task force, has been transferred to Shahabad range in the same capacity.

Ajay Kumar Mishra, DIG, BMP, would be the new DIG, Tirhut range. The DIG, Bhagalpur, has been given additional charge of Munger.

The government reverted its earlier order and asked Upendra Kumar Sinha to remain posted as SP (rail), Patna. Earlier, he was posted as SP of Madhepura. Satish Kumar and Gopal Prasad, commandants of BMP stationed at Dumraon (Buxar) and state disaster response force, Patna, have been promoted to DIG rank and posted DIGs of Bettiah and homeguard and fire services, respectively.

The SPs of Nawada, Jamui, Samastipur, Saharsa, Buxar and Madhubani have also been shifted. Jayant Kant, who was last week transferred to Jamui, has been made SP of Buxar while his predecessor Babu Ram would go to Samastipur.

 More stories in Front Page

  • Finally, DU colleges open admissions and the cutoff madness begins
  • Dispur cracks eviction whip
  • Madam, will you forgive and forget if Tapas Paul does this?
  • Finally,Trinamul seeks unconditional apology from its MP Tapas Paul
  • I apologise unreservedly: Trinamul MP says sorry for rape comment after party order
  • Sexual harass slur on ICC top gun
  • After petrol and diesel, prices of LPG and jet fuel also marked up
  • Waterway dream few steps away
  • Rangarajan files report on poverty formula, now for govt to draw the line
  • Cops play musical chairs
  • British Airways retrieves Ustad Amjad Ali's missing sarod
  • State gears up for forest e-clearance