The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

New top brass for tax outfit

Noted tax consultant R.N. Gupta was re-elected as the president of Jamshedpur Commercial Taxes Bar Association for the second time at the biennial elections held at Chambers Bhavan on Sunday.

Gupta was elected unopposed for the year 2014-16. “I am grateful to all the members who have re-elected me. We shall try our best to ensure that the association’s flag flies high forever,” said Gupta.

Like Gupta, K.L. Mittal too will serve his second term as the general secretary of the outfit. Two other members — Anil Sharma (librarian) and Durga Prasad Mittal (auditor) — also did not have any significant contenders.

Apart from these four office-bearers, the new executive body also has three vice-presidents — B. Chatterjee, Prabhati Sarkar and Umesh Prasad — and joint secretaries Dilip Kumar, Hemant Kumar Sahu and Satish Kumar Singh.

All office-bearers were elected by Jamshedpur Commercial Taxes Bar Association members, the strength of which is 126. Election began around 1.30pm under the strict supervision of election officer M.D. Kedia and his three sub-ordinates.