The Telegraph
Wednesday , June 18 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Don Bosco claim title

Guwahati, June 17: Don Bosco School emerged champions of the Munindra Chandra Paul Guwahati Sports Association Under-15 Inter-School Cricket Tournament, defeating Presidency School in the final at Latasil playground here today.

Electing to bat, Presidency School batsmen managed 101 runs before being all out in 27.5 overs. Deepjyoti Rout scored 21 runs off 30 balls, including two hits to the fence and one over the ropes. Rohit Sharma chipped in with 16 runs off 32 deliveries with one boundary. Darshanpriya Bora, Riyan Parag, Arunav Kr Nayak and Abanish Medhi picked up two wickets each for their side.

In reply, Don Bosco batsmen eased past the target losing six wickets in 23.5 overs. Riyan topscored for his side with 33 runs off 35 balls, with four hits to the fence and one over the ropes.

Sushank Bora remained unbeaten with 16 runs off 45 deliveries which included a boundary and a six. Darshan Priya Bora contributed 10 runs off 36 balls. Shubham Kr Dey was the pick of the bowlers with four wickets for 16 runs in his allotted six overs while Subham Dey and Saurish Chowdhury took one wicket each.

Riyan was adjudged the Man of the Match and Man of the Series while Damien Sereng of Don Bosco School walked away with the best batsman award. Saurish Chowdhury was awarded the best bowler trophy while Dhruvraaj Borah of South Point School and Priyangshu Dutta Assam Jatiya Bidyalaya were adjudged the most promising players. Abdul Aziz of Pragjyotish English School walked away with the best fielder award while Assam Jatiya Bidyalay was adjudged the most disciplined team of the tournament.