The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Goalpara defeat Lakhimpur

Guwahati, June 15: Goalpara Cricket Academy annexed the Dilip Sarmah Under-14 Inter District Cricket Coaching Centre Championship defeating Lakhimpur Cricket Academy by one wicket in the final at Nehru Stadium here today.

In a repeat of last year’s final, Goalpara boys managed to retain their title in a nail-biting thriller. Electing to bat, Lakhimpur boys managed 141 runs before being all out in the last ball of the stipulated 40 overs. Hrishikesh Bora topscored for his side with 60 runs off 65 deliveries while Ananta Panging chipped in with 19 runs off 27 balls. Jugal Kishore Rabha was the pick of the bowlers with three wickets while Himangshu Ramchiary, Sahil Khan, Randhir Prasad Das and Manjeet Deka bagged one wicket each.

Chasing a decent total, Goalpara batsmen got past the target losing nine wickets in 39 overs. The side rode on Tonmoy Kalita’s unbeaten 32 runs off 38 deliveries while Sambhav Jain and Sanjib Barman chipped in with 23 and 22 runs respectively. Ankur Sarmah picked up three wickets while Pranjal Bharali and Hrishikesh Bora bagged two wickets each.

Tonmoy Kalita walked away with the Man of the Match and Man of the Series awards while Manjit Deka of Goalpara was adjudged the most promising player of the tournament.