The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Lakhimpur boys in final

A moment from the match between Lakhimpur (fielding) and Bongaigaon at Nehru Stadium in Guwahati on Thursday. Picture by UB Photos

Guwahati, June 12: Lakhimpur Cricket Academy stormed into the final of Dilip Sarmah Under-14 Inter- District Cricket Coaching Centre Championship, defeating Bongaigaon Cricket Coaching Centre by seven wickets in the first semi-final at the Nehru Stadium here today.

Electing to bat, the Bongaigaon batsmen put up a total of 139 runs for the loss of eight wickets in their stipulated 40 overs. Sandip Paul scored 32 runs off 53 balls which featured two hits to the fence. Subhadeep Chakraborty chipped in with 29 runs off 61 deliveries with three boundaries.

Gautam Sahani and Siba Prasad contributed 17 and 15 runs respectively. Pranjal Bharali picked up three wickets conceding 18 runs in his allotted eight overs while Hrishikesh Bora scalped two wickets, giving away 12 runs in his quota of overs. Ankur Sarmah, Bitu Baruah and Ram Gopal Taid took one wicket each.

In reply, the Lakhimpur boys eased past the target losing three wickets in 28.3 overs. Bitu Baruah scored 44 runs off 43 deliveries (4x8) while Ruhindra Pegu chipped in with 35 runs off 52 balls (4x4, 6x1). Hrishikesh Bora and Pranjal Bharali remained unbeaten on 18 and 16 runs respectively. Birkhungrwa Brahma and Siba Prasad scalped one wicket each.

Goalpara Cricket Academy will play Tinsukia Cricket Academy in the second semi-final tomorrow.