The Telegraph
Monday , June 9 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Goalpara in semis

Guwahati, June 8: Goalpara District Cricket Academy stormed into the semi-final of the Dilip Sarmah Under-14 Inter-district Cricket Coaching Centre Championship at Nehru Stadium here today.

In the third quarter-final, Goalpara DCA trounced Morigaon Coaching Centre by 89 runs. Put to bat, Goalpara put 198 runs on the board losing nine wickets in the stipulated 40 overs.

Gaurab Thakuria played a captainís knock with an unbeaten 60 in an innings laced with six hits to the fence while Tanmoy Kalita scored a breezy 37 off 23 balls. Sanjib Barman and Randhir Prasad Das chipped in with 27 and 19 runs. Barmanís 27 runs came off 41 balls, which included four hits to the fence while Randhirís 19 came off 15 balls with three boundaries and a six.

Abhinash Nath was the pick of the bowlers for Morigaon CC with four wickets in his kitty while Azizur Rahman and Pankaj Das bagged two wickets each.

Chand Mohammad scalped one wicket.

In reply, Morigaon CC were bundled out for 109 runs in 31.2 overs with Azizur Rahman the leading contributor with 42 runs off 69 balls while Chitrananda Bora made a steady 13. Manthan Das was the pick of the bowlers for Goalpara DCA with figures of three wickets for 24 runs in 4.2 overs while Tonmoy Kalita and Jugal Kishore Rabha bagged two wickets each conceding 18 and 17 runs respectively. Randhir Prasad Das bagged one wicket for 16 runs in seven overs.

In another match played at the NFRSA Stadium in Maligaon, Titabor Cricket Coaching Centre thrashed Bajali Cricket Coaching Centre by eight wickets.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Rail blockade threat over train timings
  • NSCN-K statehood
  • Dhubri BJP seeks arrest of 'rapists'
  • Football Lovers win
  • Protests, rallies to rock Garo hills this week
  • Search on for abducted duo
  • Goalpara in semis
  • Uniform policy for college admission
  • PHE get walkover, Town excel
  • Assam rowers bag six medals
  • Probe into exam malpractice
  • Protests, rallies to rock Garo hills this week
  • Is Wokha dead? Signal from SA turns static
  • 2 HNLC members held in Calcutta
  • Hearing on mining ban
  • Sayamaya defeat Barhoongka
  • South Point lift trophy
  • Trinamul bickering peaks
  • Three party presidents claim to lead Trinamul