The Telegraph
Friday , June 6 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Younis is demoted

Cricket Digest

Karachi: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) threw up a few surprises while releasing the new list of central contracts with young pacer Junaid Khan bracketed in category A while senior batsman Younis Khan was relegated to group B. Only five players, including captain Misbah-ul Haq, Mohammed Hafeez, Shahid Afridi and Saeed Ajmal, got A level deals in a list of 31 contracted players.

3 new faces

London: Uncapped trio Sam Robson, Chris Jordan and Moeen Ali have been named in the England squad for the first Test against Sri Lanka, starting at Lord’s next Thursday.


Alastair Cook (captain), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior, Sam Robson, Joe Root, Chris Woakes

Luke quits

Brisbane: Explosive former Australian T20 batsman Luke Pomersbach announced his retirement from professional cricket on Thursday to deal with depression.

Awards for AB

Johannesburg: AB de Villiers dominated the Cricket South Africa Awards by bagging four awards, including Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year, SA Players’ Player of the Year and SA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year 2014.