The Telegraph
Thursday , June 5 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Postcards to PM from Ajsu

Ranchi, June 4: In the run-up to the forthcoming Assembly elections, the All Jharkhand Students’ Union central working committee today resolved to launch a postcard campaign to push for a special status for Jharkhand.

Ajsu will also be launching statewide campaigns on issues of common interest like water, electricity and general law and order.

And to ensure the campaigns are effectively managed, today’s meeting decided to reshuffled unit heads in as many as 14 districts.

Beginning June 8, villagers from across the state would be sending postcards to Prime Minister Narendra Modi and urge him to grant special status to Jharkhand at the earliest. The campaign would run for a month.

“During the month-long campaign, I will also be going to villages to urge people to send maximum possible postcards to the Prime Minister. We are determined to steer the battle to a decisive end. In due course, I will also be taking stock of real problems being faced by the people and our party workers,” Ajsu president Sudesh Mahto told The Telegraph after the meeting.

On June 12, Ajsu women’s wing plans to gherao offices of executive engineers of the power department in various districts. They would also stage demonstrations before the offices of deputy commissioners to protest against water crises.

Party supporters would observe June 22 as Sankalp Divas when they would vow to ensure that Jharkhand was no longer denied its due.

Hul Divas on June 30, commemorating martyrdom day of Siddho-Kanho, would be observed as Balidan Divas (day of sacrifice) at all block headquarters.

On July 8, party men would be sitting on a dharna at all block headquarters demanding special status for Jharkhand, due rights to panchayati raj bodies, strict execution of food security and right to education laws and early solutions to local issues.

Today’s meeting was presided over by Mahto at his Kanke Road residence. Among those who attended were party MLAs C.P. Choudhary, K.K. Bhagat, U.K. Rajak and R.C. Sahis and senior leaders D.S. Bhagat, Pravin Prabhakar, Hassa Ansari, Swapan Singhdeo and B.K. Chand.