The Telegraph
Wednesday , June 4 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Bud, Bongaigaon win

Guwahati, June 3: Bud Cricket Academy, Guwahati, and Bongaigaon Cricket Coaching Centre registered wins in their matches of the Dilip Sarmah Under-14 Inter-District Cricket Coaching Centre Championship here today.

Bud Cricket Academy edged past Jorhat Cricket Coaching Centre by one wicket in their match at Nehru Stadium.

Put in to bat, the Jorhat batsmen were bowled out for 102 runs in 39.1 overs. Lower middle-order batsman Gauranga Neog remained not out with 28 runs off 61 balls, while Jishu Bharadwaj chipped in with 15 runs off 25 deliveries. Altogether 33 runs came as extras.

For Bud, Manikarna Sarma scalped three wickets for 17 runs in eight overs while Himjyoti Sarma, Latifur Rahman, Atul Kr Singh and Aditya Gupta picked up a wicket each.

Bud Cricket Academy got past the target losing nine wickets in 35 overs.

Atul Kumar Singh scored 20 runs off 24 balls, while Himjyoti Sarma chipped in with 18 runs off 85 deliveries.

Manikarna Singh excelled with the bat too, scoring 16 runs off 21 balls.

Raktim Ranjan Das and Dibyajyoti Phukan picked up three wickets each while Jishu Bharadwaj and Minhazul Abdin scalped a wicket each.

In the other match at the Northeast Frontier Railway Stadium, Bongaigaon Cricket Coaching Centre got the better of Nazira Cricket Academy by four wickets.

Electing to bat, Nazira Cricket Academy put up 106 runs, losing eight wickets in the stipulated 40 overs.

Nipu Gogoi and Gouranga Kishore Gogoi scored 21 runs each while opener Duranta Darshan Doimari made 11 runs off 34 balls.

The side received 40 runs through extras.

Saurav Dey, Subhadeep Chakraborty and Siva Prasad picked up two wickets each while Burkhungwra Baruah and Bishal Roy took a wicket each.

In reply, the Bongaigaon boys got past the target losing six wickets in 31.4 overs.

Sourav Dey and Sandip Paul chipped in with 28 runs each while Bishal Roy contributed 16 runs off 45 deliveries. Gouranga Kishore Gogoi picked up two wickets conceding 24 runs in his allotted overs while Bishal Singh, Duranta Darshan Doimari, Abhishek Debnath and Deepjyoti Singh scalped a wicket each.

Vovinam: A 34-member team, along with officials, left Imphal today to take part in the fifth national vovinam championship being held at indoor stadium from June 7 to 10. The Manipur team will take part in sub-junior, junior and senior categories, both in boys and girls events.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Farmers protest 'eviction'
  • Militant killed in encounter
  • Sivayan
  • Better air connectivity on DoNER radar
  • Employee arrested
  • Education for poor students
  • Sonowal keen on park safety
  • Sunday to play for Silchar
  • Arunachal ministers get portfolios
  • Rape case accused in custody
  • Advent, Noonmati triumph
  • Kokrajhar curfew lifted
  • Bud, Bongaigaon win
  • Two traders murdered in
  • Nagaland toppers awarded