The Telegraph
Saturday , May 17 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

AIUDF retains one, snatches two more

Dhubri, May 16: The AIUDF picked up three seats — Dhubri, Barpeta and Karimganj — in Assam and raised its tally from one MP seat in 2009 to three this time.

As expected, AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal retained Dhubri seat by defeating Congress candidate Wazed Ali Choudhury by a huge margin of nearly 2.29 lakh votes while his younger brother, Sirajuddin Ajmal, defeated BJP candidate Chandra Mohan Patowary in Barpeta.

In Karimganj, AIUDF candidate Radheshyam Biswas won the seat defeating BJP candidate Krishna Das.

Ajmal after collecting winning MP certificate from Dhubri returning officer Kumud Chandra Kalita, told reporters that his party would hold a party meeting in Guwahati to discuss the issue of extending support to the NDA.

Dhubri district AIUDF president Aminur Rahman Ahmed when asked what would be the role of the party MPs at the Centre, he said they would wait a couple days and take decision on it.

“But in my opinion, the party should support the government in power in New Delhi in order to cash in on the benefits of all-round development in the constituencies,” Ahmed said.

BJP candidate Debamoy Sanyal, however, could not put up a fight though the party and its allies swept the polls in Assam and rest of the country on the Modi wave, and remained at a distant third.

Asked about poll debacle in Dhubri Lok Sabha seat, the district BJP secretary, Prosenjit Dutta, said, “When in most of the constituencies in Assam, anti-Congress votes polarised in favour of the BJP but the same votes went in favour of the AIUDF in these three constituencies.”

Dhubri Lok Sabha is a minority-dominated constituency with over 70 per cent voters voting against the Congress since 2006. “We lost the polls here largely because the party has little organisation in the minority-dominated Assembly constituency,” Dutta said.

Dhubri Congress president Sushil Chandra Roy on its defeat in Dhubri said this was a lost seat even before the party fielded its candidate against (Badruddin) Ajmal.

“Moreover, minority voters got scared of the Modi wave and thought that if they divide the votes the BJP could win, so they voted for the AIUDF here,” Roy explained.

Owing to imposition of Section 144 CrPC in the district, there was no victory procession in Dhubri. There was a thin attendance in offices and most commercial establishments were closed today.

 More stories in Northeast

  • AIUDF retains one, snatches two more
  • Cong retains Arunachal
  • 'Grandma' betters tally
  • Twin upsets in Barak valley
  • AGP in free fall since 2001
  • Surprise and shock at loss in tea towns
  • Woman MLA after 27 years
  • Region factor
  • Mandate against 'victimisation'