The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Agartala beefs up security for counting

Agartala, May 15: The counting of ballots will commence from 8am simultaneously in 17 halls in six places, including Agartala.

Altogether 14 counting observers deputed by the Election Commission have arrived here and are fanning out to subdivisional towns.

A three-tier security structure has been put in place and is being further beefed up to prevent any untoward incident.

Central paramilitary forces will be on duty to provide foolproof security.

Prohibitory orders under Section 144 have been clamped around all 12 counting centres in West Tripura (general) and East Tripura (ST) parliamentary constituencies.

The returning officers of West and East Tripura parliamentary constituencies, Abhishek Singh and Prashant Kumar Goel visited all the 12 counting centres and 32 halls and inspected the arrangements made for the process of counting tomorrow.

The returning officer of West Tripura parliamentary constituency Abhishek Singh said out of 30 Assembly segments in the constituency votes cast in 14 segments will be counted in Umakanta Bengali and English medium schools while the counting for remaining 16 segments will be taken up in Bishalgarh, Sonamura, Udaipur and Belonia.

The counting of votes in East Tripura constituency will be taken up in Ambassa, Kailasahar, Dharmangar, Gandacherra, Kanchanpur, Amarpur and Sabroom.

The Congress, BJP and Trinamul will take part in the counting tomorrow despite their protests against alleged “electoral malpractices”.