The Telegraph
Friday , April 11 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

73.94% turnout in repoll centres

Jorhat, April 10: Repolling at six booths in three Assam Lok Sabha constituencies were held peacefully today without any reports of technical glitch in the EVMs.

Repolling was held in four booths under Jorhat seat and one each in Tezpur and Dibrugarh seats, following the Election Commission order yesterday after malfunctioning EVMs disrupted polling midway on Monday. Even after replacements, the machines were found to be defective, with doubts cropping up over accurate retrieval of results.

Additional chief electoral officer, Assam, Ramesh Chand Jain, told The Telegraph this evening that the re-polling from 7am to 5pm passed off peacefully without any report of untoward incident. He said the EVMs also functioned normally without any hitch.

Jain said the voter turnout in the six polling centres was 73.94 per cent. The turnout on Monday was 78.6 per cent.

The three constituencies along with two other seats — Kaliabor and Lakhimpur — had gone to the polls on Monday in the first phase of elections. The commission’s decision came on the basis of recommendations sent on Tuesday by returning officers of the three constituencies.

The three returning officers — Solanki Vishal Vasant (Jorhat), Aruna Rajoria (Dibrugarh) and Lalit Gogoi (Tezpur) — had sent the recommendations to the commission through Assam chief electoral officer Vijayendra after holding scrutiny meetings with senior officials on Tuesday. Engineers of Electronics Corporation India Limited, one of the two companies that manufacture EVMs, were present at the meeting.

The highest voter turnout of 77.76 per cent was recorded at the 61 Kharagarh LP School under Amguri Assembly seat of Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency. The lowest voter turnout of 67.26 per cent was recorded at the 84 Bahboria LP School under Sonari Assembly seat of Jorhat.

The voter turnout in 38 Sensua Gaon LP School was 71.08 per cent under Jorhat Assembly seat, while in the 5 Pukhuria LP School under Mariani Assembly seat, the turnout was 71.76 per cent (both under Jorhat Lok Sabha constituency).

The turnout in the 22 Laina LP School under Tinsukia Assembly seat of Dibrugarh Lok Sabha constituency was 74.81 per cent while in 86 Borgang High School under 77 Behali Assembly seat of Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency, the turnout was 75.04 per cent.

On April 4, the commission had ordered checking of all EVMs in the state to allay apprehensions about anomalies. Both the Congress and the AGP had sought rechecking of all machines before the polls.

According to commission guidelines, five per cent of the total EVMs should be checked by random selection for mock poll before handing them to the presiding officers.

However, the demand for 100 per cent rechecking of EVMs came up from the Congress last week after a technical defect was detected in four out of 30 machines during a mock poll at Jorhat on April 2.

 More stories in Northeast

  • BJP vows to expedite work in Barak valley
  • Blue Pine victorious
  • GU to tweak grade system
  • In pursuit of hemprek kanthim...
  • General strike in last leg of campaign
  • Symbolism gains ground
  • ... a dream Engleng dreams too
  • For CPM, only margin matters
  • 73.94% turnout in repoll centres
  • Villagers flee no-man's land
  • Border vigil stepped up
  • Lion vs tiger in Barpeta
  • Attacker edge past Rhino, enter semis
  • Nagaland Cong to demand repolling
  • Tura trumps Shillong in turnout
  • Ibobi livid at NSCN-IM 'meddling' in Manipur
  • School meet hots up
  • Liquor seized
  • AAU-bred fish grows just in time for Bihu