The Telegraph
Tuesday , April 8 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Charmie, Nivia enter last four

Imphal, April 7: Charmie Devi will take on Nivia Devi in the semi-final in the under-10 girlsí category of the first Manipur Tennis League 2014, which got under way at IDTA Tennis Complex Lamphelpat, Imphal West.

Charmie, en route to the semi-final, beat Crystal 4-1, 4-1, Linda by 4-0 and 4-0 games and Agu 4-0, 4-0 to emerge the winner in Group A. In group B, Nivia beat Tutu 5-3, 5-3 to emerge as runners-up, winning her ticket to the semi- final.

From group A, Bindya Devi emerged winner and booked her berth in the semi- final beating Tutu by 4-0 and 4-1 games and Nivia by 4-1 and 5-3 games.

In the menís team, KK Challengers beat Manipur Legend by 2-1 sets. The first singles saw Y. Leelenjee of KKC beat N. Kangjamba of ML 6-4, 6-1 while in the second singles, Azad Khan of KKC beat Tule Th of ML 3-6, 6-2, 10-7. However, in the doubles game, the Manipur Legend pair of Tule and Kangjamba beat Y. Leelenjee and Azad Khan of KKC by 6-2,6-1, 10-7 sets.

LB Aces also registered a win against Biren Attacker by 2-1 sets to move into the next round.

In the under-14 boys, L. Luching ensured three wins, beating Rahul and Nishant twice, while Musa, Rajiv and Piba also won two each. In the veteranís team, Bobby Rhinos beat LB Aces by 2-1 sets while Challenger beat Attacker by 2-1 sets.

President elected

District Table Tennis Association, Imphal West, has elected M. Gojendra as president and S. Biswajeet Moirangcha as honarary secretary for the term 2014-18.

Hockey team: Manipur Hockey will be holding a trial to select state under-16 team for the Hockey India Sub-Junior Men/Womenís National Championship, 2014 which will commence on May 12 at Ranchi and Haldwani. The coaching programme will be conducted by Ksh. Umashankar, Ch. Nepolian and M. Rinash from April 10 at SAI Takyel ground.

Tennis championship: Chandrasekhar Mohanty, Anshuman Dutta, Pradip Rajbangshi and Manash Mahanta are representing the Oil India Limited menís team in the 33rd Petroleum Sports Promotion Board inter-unit tennis championship at the Karnataka State Lawn Tennis Association Stadiumís tennis courts at Bangalore from Tuesday. The veteranís team comprising Kalyan K. Das, Hakim Ali, Jayanta Kumar Malakar and Raj Kishore Singh will also take part.

Chess championship: Senior Assam chess player Nandan Buragohain and state under-9 champion Dhrupad Kashyap will represent India in the 14th BCC Challenger Chess Championship at Bangkok, Thailand, from April 12 to 19.