The Telegraph
Thursday , March 27 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

40 names for second phase

BJP candidate Kabindra Purakayastha files his nomination for Silchar on Wednesday. Picture by UB Photos

March 26: Twenty-eight candidates today filed their nomination papers for the second phase of polling in three Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam on April 12.

Altogether 40 candidates have filed their nomination papers for the second phase, which will be scrutinised tomorrow. Three constituencies — Silchar, Karimganj and Diphu — will go to polls in the second phase.

Sitting BJP MP Kabindra Purakayastha was among the prominent candidates in Silchar who filed their papers today.

Kutub Ahmed Mazumdar is the AIUDF candidate in the constituency. Mazumdar, a former Congress legislator from Sonai, said he left the Congress as the party had “changed”.

Purakayastha had defeated former Union minister and seven-time Congress MP Santosh Mohan Dev in 2009. Dev’s daughter, Sushmita Dev, an MLA from Silchar, has been fielded by the Congress this time.

Owner of a Bengali daily, Bijay Krishna Nath, who recently left the AIUDF after being denied a ticket, today field his nomination as an AGP candidate from Silchar. “The AIUDF is a communal party and I left the party as soon as I realised it,” Nath said.

A statement from the state election commission today said 17 candidates filed their nomination papers in Silchar followed by 16 in Karimganj and seven in the ST-reserved Diphu constituency.

Today was the last day of filing nominations and the last date to withdraw for the second phase is March 29. “A total of 29,15,127 voters will cast their votes. Polling will be conducted in 3,698 polling stations in the three constituencies,” the statement said.

As many as 53 candidates had filed their nomination papers for the first phase of polling on April 7 to be held in five constituencies — Kaliabor, Lakhimpur, Jorhat, Tezpur and Dibrugarh.

In Dibrugarh, DHSK College political science department organised a voters’ awareness drive and various contests among its students.

All 10 candidates, eight from the Shillong parliamentary constituency and two from Tura, will be in the fray for the April 9 Lok Sabha polls as none of them withdrew from the electoral battlefield.

Today was the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

 More stories in Northeast

  • AGP files complaint against DC Agnihotri
  • Hojai declared winners
  • Hojai declared winners
  • Khurai outride policemen
  • Rhino killed in Pobitora
  • Khurai outride policemen
  • Coaching camp at Hailakandi
  • Forum against dehorning
  • Manipur players excel on Day 4
  • Hojai declared winners
  • Coaching camp at Hailakandi
  • Coaching camp at Hailakandi
  • Manipur players excel on Day 4
  • A pledge to be the 'different' one
  • Manipur players excel on Day 4
  • 40 names for second phase
  • Assam argues against ban
  • Rahul to address twin rallies
  • NPF bets big on Naga problem solution
  • Push for parties' army act stand
  • Midday meal rap for Dispur
  • Khurai outride policemen
  • Screen to counter social evil
  • KHADC spells out stand on land acquisition
  • Hundreds join rally against witch-hunting