The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

JVM sees threat as race hots up
Of candidate count & EVM worries

The East Singhbhum district collectorate witnessed a flurry of activities as nine candidates filed nomination on Wednesday the last day of the formal procedure for the April 17 polls. With the deadline ending at 3pm, a total of 17 candidates are in the fray as of now. A look at the scenario and the challenges so far

Last, not the least

Bidyut Baran Mahto (BJP); K.C. Mardi (AAP); Dinesh Mahto (Independent); Sitaram Tuddu (SUCI-C); Doman Chandra Bhagat (BSP); Fazal Khan (TMC); D.G. Raja (SP); Jasai Mardi (Rashtriya Deshaj Party); Mithilesh Das (Bahujan Samaj Mukti Party)

Final list

Scrutiny of nominations will take place on March 27 while the last date for withdrawing candidature is March 29. Deputy commissioner-cum-returning officer for Jamshedpur Amitabh Kaushal will announce the final list on March 29


Though the current candidate count is not final, the possibility that there might be more than 15 people in the fray for Jamshedpur is a cause of worry as more number of balloting units will then be needed to accommodate all. This is because the Supreme Court, in its September 27, 2013, order providing None Of The Above (NOTA) option on EVMs, had said that each balloting unit can have only 15 candidates while the last one will be NOTA.

An EVM consists of two units control unit and balloting unit. The control unit is kept with the polling officer, while the balloting unit is meant for users.

If the number of candidates exceeds 15, two balloting units will have to be used in each of the 1,626 booths in Jamshedpur, which will take the number of required EVMs to 3,252. In addition, 10 per cent of the required number of EVMs will have to be kept as standby for emergency. Thus, Jamshedpur will need a total of 3,577 EVMs.


East Singhbhum has only 2,425 balloting units and will need 1,152 more if the number of candidates crosses 15. Additional deputy commissioner-cum-assistant election officer Ganesh Kumar said that they would write to the Election Commission.