The Telegraph
Saturday , March 22 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Navajyoti Club claim top title

maharana cricket

Guwahati, March 21: Navajyoti Club edged past Bud Cricket Club by a narrow margin of six runs in the final to claim the title of the Suren Ram Phookun Maharana Centenary cricket tournament at Judges Field here today.

Put to bat, Navajyoti posted 187 for eight in the stipulated 40 overs and the Bud batsmen were all out for 181 with five balls remaining.

Hrishikesh Tamuli topscored for Navajyoti Club with a steady knock of 50 runs and Subham Mandal contributed 35 (3x4).

Nipon Deka (26, 2x4, 2x6) and Abhijit Singha Roy (24, 3x4) were the other notable scorers for the side.

Biplab Saikia was the pick of the Bud bowlers having hauled six wickets for 52 while Debabrata Roy and Jogeswar Bhumij picked up one each.

For Bud, Manoj Malo scored a run-a-ball 49 (3x4, 2x6), Mukut Kalita chipped in with 29 (3x4), Roshan Basfore contributed 23 (3x4) and another run-a-ball 21 (1x4, 1x6) came from the bat of Jogeswar Bhumij.

Kon Urang scalped three wickets for 32 runs while Yadavendra Singh, who was the most economical Navajyoti bowler, returned with the figures of one for 29 off 10 overs.

Nipon Deka was named Man of the Match and teammate Abhijit Singha Roy was Man of the Tournament.

Hrishikesh Tamuli was named Best Batsman and Dhiraj Goswami and Roshan Basfore of Bud were adjudged Best Bowler and Best Fielder respectively.