The Telegraph
Saturday , March 22 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Poll fever runs high
- BJP steals a march over others, gets cracking on nominations

The political atmosphere of Jharkhand was charged up on Friday with 31, including Independents, filing their nomination papers for Lok Sabha elections slated for the first and second day of voting. The BJP fielded five, the maximum number of candidates of the day, while JVM settled for two and the Congress, JMM and Jharkhand Party one each. While Chatra, Koderma, Lohardaga and Palamau will go to the polls on April 10, Giridih, Ranchi, Jamshedpur, Singhbhum, Khunti and Hazaribagh will vote on April 17.


BJP: Ex-MP Ram Tahal Choudhary

BSP: Durga Oraon

Others in fray: Amitabh Choudhary (JVM), MP Subodh Kant Sahay (Cong), former deputy CM and MLA Sudesh Kumar Mahto (Ajsu), MLA Bandhu Tirkey (TMC), Amanullah Aman (AAP)

POLL PITCH: “There is a Modi wave across the country and I will certainly win,” says Choudhary


JVM: MP Ajoy Kumar

Others in fray: Niroop Kumar Mahanty (JMM), Bidyut Baran Mahto (BJP)

POLL PITCH: “My priority will be to ensure cleanliness in urban and rural areas of the constituency and generate jobs in the rural sector,” says Kumar


BJP: Sunil Kumar Singh

Cong: Rajya Sabha MP Dhiraj Prasad Sahu

JVM: Zila Parishad member Neelam Devi

Others in fray: Keshwar Yadav (SP), Mahesh Yadav (JD-U)

POLL PITCH: “I got a ticket and the blessings of Congress supremo (Sonia Gandhi). I will try not to let her down,” says Sahu


JP: MLA Anosh Ekka (now on bail)

Others in fray: MP Karia Munda (BJP), Kalicharan Munda (Cong), Dayamani Barla (AAP, Basant Longa (JVM), Niel Tirkey (Ajsu)

POLL PITCH: “I have been doing groundwork since quite some time. I am hopeful of winning,” says Ekka


BJP: MP Sudarshan Bhagat

Others in fray: Rameshwar Oraon (Cong), Chamra Linda (TMC), Virendra Bhagat (JVM)

POLL PITCH: “I am a devoted BJP man and people will vote for me because of my clean image,” says Bhagat


BJP: MP Ravindra Kumar Pandey (left)

JMM: MLA Jagannath Mahto

Others in fray: U.C. Mehta (Ajsu), Shaba Ahmed (JVM), Jaleshwar Mahto (JD-U)

POLL PITCH: “Everyone wants to get rid of the UPA’s misrule, which symbolises price rise and corruption,” says Pandey


JMM: Ex-DGP V. D. Ram

Others in fray: MP Kameshwar Baitha (TMC), ex-MP Manoj Kumar Bhuiyan (RJD), Ghuran Ram (JVM), ex-MP and minister Jorawar Ram (JD-U)

POLL PITCH: “I promise effective implementation of various developmental schemes of government at the ground level,” says Ram


lJVM: Pranav Kumar Verma (left)

lCong: Tilakdhari Singh

lAjsu: Najrul Hasan Hashmi

lOthers in fray: Ravindra Kumar Rai (BJP), Raj Kumar Yadav (CPI-ML)

POLL PITCH: “JVM has emerged as the main political force in the state and Babulal Marandi’s image will help me,” says Verma

Singhbhum (ST)

Nomination filed: Nil

Candidates in fray: Chitrasen Sinku (Cong), Krishna Gagarai (JVM), Laxman Gilua (BJP), Geeta Koda (Jai Bharat Samanta Party)


Nomination filed: Nil

Candidates in fray: Mithilesh Kumar Dangi (AAP), Hazaribagh MLA Saurabh Narayan Singh (Cong), Arun Kumar Mishra (JVM), Jayant Sinha (BJP), Loknath Mahto (Ajsu)