The Telegraph
Friday , March 21 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Karimganj declared winners

Hailakandi, March 20: Karimganj were declared winners by virtue of a first-innings lead against Titabar in the two-day under-19 J.K. Baruah inter-district cricket championship (Hailakandi zone) at Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Stadium in Hailakandi today.

Resuming the second innings at 37 for no loss, Karimganj declared their innings 11 minutes before the end of day’s play at 304 for seven wickets in 56.3 overs. Opener Liyakat Ali and Sanjit Das scored centuries each for a second-wicket partnership of 180 runs.

Ali scored 103 with two sixes and 17 fours while Sanjit remained not out on 125. Mrinal Das bagged two wickets in 41 runs.

Yesterday, Titabar put Karimganj to bat and scored 159 in 44.4 overs.

Onkar Dutta Choudhury scored 51 in 67 balls while Sanjit Das scored 33 in 42 balls. Titabar’s Dipankar Pachni bagged four wickets giving away 32 runs while Suraj Kachari bagged two wickets. In reply, Titabar were bundled out in the first innings for 78 runs in 34.4 overs. Suraj Kachari topscored with 34.

Syed Hussain took five wickets for 11 runs while Sandip Das took two for 14 runs. Karimganj started the second innings with a lead of 81 runs and scored 37 in seven overs before the end of the first day’s play.

I-league: Ten matches of the final round of the second division I league football 2013-14 will be held at the Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium in Silchar from Sunday.

United Sikkim FC will kick off their campaign against Royal Wahingdoh while Kalighat Milan Sangha will take on Bhawanipore FC Calcutta.

Silchar DSA general secretary Babul Hore addressing reporters on Wednesday evening said United Sikkim FC, Kalighat Milan Sangha, Hindustan FC of Delhi, Bhawanipore FC and Royal Wahingdoh of Meghalaya will play in the return league at Aizawl.

Thereafter, the top position holders will be allowed to play in the first division league.