The Telegraph
Friday , March 14 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Ankurjyoti triumph

GSA cricket

Guwahati, March 13: Ankurjyoti Club today inflicted a three-wicket defeat on River Rine Club in their league match of the Bhupen Chandra Mahanta GSA first division cricket tournament at Nehru Stadium here.

Winning the toss, River Rine opted to bat and were restricted to a modest total of 176 for eight in the stipulated 35 overs, chasing which the Ankurjyoti batsmen achieved the target losing seven wickets in 34 overs.

Laxman Sikdar topscored for River Rine with a breezy 64, laced with seven boundaries off 88 deliveries he faced while Amitabh Mallick and Chandan Singh chipped in with 28 (4x4) and 24 (2x6) respectively.

Youngster D. Riyan Parag was the pick of the Ankurjyoti bowlers having hauled six wickets conceding 21 runs off five overs while Rohit Sharma chipped in with one for 26.

Rohit Sharma also led from the front in their chase remaining unbeaten with a 74-run knock, hitting seven boundaries off 82 balls. Rio Pramanik’s run-a-ball 38 (3x4) and Riyan Parag’s 26 (5x4) were the other notable contributions to the Ankurjyoti board. Mitish Purakayastha and Vicky Razzak of River Rine shared three wickets each, giving away 33 and 38 runs respectively.

Navarang Club will play Food Corporation of India SC in tomorrow’s league match.

Swimming: With 18 gold, 11 silver and seven bronze medals, Jorhat emerged the best team in the inter-district swimming competition that concluded in Guwahati today.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Nagaland, Assam in fresh border row
  • Congress retains Pala for Shillong
  • Rescued children brought to Shillong
  • City club beats hosts Maharana
  • Singer rejects AAP offer
  • AIUDF sticks to tried and tested
  • Ankurjyoti triumph
  • AGP's lone Lok Sabha MP resigns, joins BJP
  • Goalpara resident gets AAP Dhubri seat
  • Beacon denial miffs Clifford
  • Rich tea trove in Assam wilderness
  • 'Being young is my strength'
  • Robbers loot buses, kill helper
  • Govt Boys wins school tourney title
  • Bhupen Trophy on track
  • Beware of fake officials
  • Sharmila backs AAP
  • Sonowal's parivartan mantra
  • Varsity head faces probe
  • Govt rejects holiday plea
  • Imphal West emerge winner
  • NPP chalks out poll strategy