The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Govt Boys’, South Point in final

Hailakandi, March 10: Government Boys’ Higher Secondary School, Silchar, will play against South Point School, Silchar, in the final of the Baidyanath Nath Trophy inter-school (under-15) cricket championship, organised by the Silchar District Sports Association later this week.

In the semi-finals at Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium in Silchar yesterday, Government School defeated Cachar High School by 17 runs while South Point School edged past Narashinga HS School by two runs.

Winning the toss, Government Boys’ school elected to bat and scored 142, losing nine wickets in the stipulated 25 overs.

In reply, Cachar High School were bundled out for 125 in 23.2 overs.

Government Boys’ school were reduced to 46 for four at one stage after which a fifth-wicket partnership of Gautam Das (30) and Dipak Das (34) added 88 runs to the board.

Incidentally, 52 runs came in as extras, which included 44 wides.

Rupam Deb hauled five wickets for 37 runs off his five overs.

For Cachar School, Samik Das topscored with 45 runs, hitting seven boundaries. Biswajit Goswami also contributed 22 runs while 21 runs came in as extras. Six of the side’s batsmen were trapped leg before. Najmul Mazumdar took four scalps for 22 runs while Asif Akhtar took two for 25.

In the other semi-final, South Point, put to bat first, were bundled out for 59 runs in 20 overs. In reply, Narashingha were skittled out for 57 runs in 19.4 overs.

None of the South Point boys could score high while 22 runs came in as extras. Anurag Goala of Narasingha scalped three wickets for 15 runs while Swapan Goala claimed two for six.

For Narasingha, opener Biswadeep Ghosh (10) was the only batsman to score in double figures while 24 runs came in as extras.

Rahul Roy and Suraj Paul took three wickets each, giving away nine and 10 runs respectively. Arup Goswami and Dilip Ghosh claimed two wickets each, conceding eight and 10 runs respectively.

Rural kabaddi: Latu zone emerged champions in both the men’s and women’s kabaddi in the rural zonal kabaddi championship, organised by the District Sports Association of Karimganj, yesterday.

In the final at DSA ground, Latu zone defeated Badarpur zone 52-39 in the men’s event while Latu zone’s women’s team got the better of Badarpur zone 48-21 in the women’s event.