The Telegraph
Tuesday , March 11 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Kiran party

Hyderabad, March 10: Former Andhra Pradesh chief minister Kiran Kumar Reddy today announced the name of his new political party as Jai Samaikyandra, reports our special correspondent.

“My party will strive to protect and retain the Telugu atma gowravam (self-respect and pride) which has been deceptively and deliberately punctured by the Congress without bothering about sentiments of the people of Seemandhra,” Reddy said.

The party has already been registered with the Election Commission by former Telugu Desam MP Chundru Srihari Rao. Reddy and Rao will be the party’s presidents.


New Delhi: Former Lok Sabha Speaker Purno A. Sangma will contest the Lok Sabha polls from Meghalaya’s Tura constituency as a National People’s Party candidate, reports our special correspondent.

His daughter and former Union minister Agatha announced that she will “not be contesting the elections”. She added that she had resigned from the NCP and joined the NPP. She said she would work for the party organisation.

AAP new list

New Delhi (PTI): The Aam Aadmi Party has announced it fourth list of candidates for the general election from 61 constituencies.

Ashish Khetan, a journalist and founder of whose sting operation revealed that Gujarat police was tailing a woman allegedly at Narendra Modi’s behest, has been given a ticket from New Delhi.

Former Infosys CFO V. Balakrishnan has been fielded from Bangalore Central. Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson Rajmohan is in electoral fray from East Delhi. The AAP has so far announced candidates for 131 seats across the country.

EC initiatives

New Delhi (PTI): The Election Commission on Monday held a meeting of auditors of major political parties to discuss transparency guideline norms and filing statements for 2013-14 after completion of the polls.

The poll panel said it expects the statement to be filed by October 30. The move is an effort to curb the use of black money.

The panel is mulling a proposal to increase the polling hours. While the polling duration currently is of nine hours, the panel is seeking an increase in by an hour.