The Telegraph
Wednesday , March 5 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Tarun Sangha claim top title

Hailakandi, March 4: Tarun Sangha claimed the Babul Dutta-Chandan Kumar Dutta Trophy cricket championship title, defeating Badarpur Bazar Sporting Club by three wickets in the final at Badarpur Railway stadium of Karimganj district yesterday.

Winning the toss, Bazar Sporting Club elected to bat and were bundled out for 151 in 29.3 overs.

In reply, Tarun Sangha reached the target losing seven wickets in 25.5 overs.

Pankaj Guha of Tarun Sangha was named Best Bowler while Liyakat Ahmed of Chamatkar Club was adjudged Best Batsman.

Ajit Modak of Bazar Sporting Club and Uttam Chakraborty of White Sports Club were Man of the Tournament and Best Fielder respectively. Pranjal Hazarika of Cosmopolitan Club was named Most Talented Player of the league. Mother India Sporting Club got the Fair Play trophy. The runners-up team got the Anandamal Jarat Devi Trophy. The league-cum-knockout championship was organised by Badarpur Railway Institute.

 More stories in Northeast

  • BPF rallies, Absu marches
  • Militant
  • Opposition salvo at Mukul
  • Bongaigaon in comfort zone
  • Chance to realise a reel dream
  • Anti-graft bill in budget session
  • Tarun Sangha claim top title
  • BJP names candidates
  • Lower Assam districts worst sufferers of blockades
  • Nambul Mapal triumph
  • Green Valley win
  • Error forces oath re-take in council
  • NPF panel for smooth transition
  • Panel to check Majuli work
  • Sexual offence whiff in fake cop case
  • Turbulent year caps second term
  • AASU strike hits OIL