The Telegraph
Tuesday , March 4 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Aneo Singha claims 4 titles

Hailakandi, March 3: S. Aneo Singha of Panchgram Kendriya Vidyalaya annexed four titles in badminton in the 60th sports festival of Silchar Town Club that concluded at Satindra Mohan Dev Stadium indoor complex in Silchar last night.

Aneo Singha won the under-13 boys’ singles title, defeating Amarjit Sinha of Kabuganj Pranabananda Vidyamandir 21-4, 21-14 and the under-16 singles title defeating Pratik Choudhury of Maharshi Vidyamandir 19-21, 21-14, 21-18.

In the under-13 boys’ doubles, Singha and Arun Kumar Chunar won the title defeating Kunal Sinha and Bitihutra Sinha of Kabuganj Prananbananda Vidyamandir 21-19, 21-11 and in under-16 doubles, Singha and Pratik Choudhury defeated Mridul Sinha and Shubhrajyoti Sinha of Kabuganj 21-10, 24-22 in the final.

Bitihutra Sinha of Kabuganj lifted the under-10 singles title defeating Uddipta Mishra of Silchar Don Bosco School 21-17, 21-16.

In the open mixed doubles final, Jagajjyoti Rajkumar and Sudipta Sinha defeated Kartik Das-Sushmita Paul 21-12, 21-19.

In table tennis, Apratim Gogoi of United Club won the singles title, beating Pannalal Roy of Udharbond Table Tennis Club 11-8, 13-11, 11-5. In the doubles, Pannalal Roy and Suranjan Sharma defeated Pranjit Deb and Partha Pratim Deb of the same club 11-7, 11-6, 11-8.

In chess, Manoj Das topped the tally with 4.5 points from the five-round tournament.

In volleyball, Cachar Police defeated Kajidahar Sports Club 25-21, 25-17 in the final.

In track and field events, sprinter Sufia Yasmin Laskar secured top position in the seven events.

Farida Parvin Laskar, Mamata Fulmali and Begum Jahanara Laskar won two gold each while in the men’s events, Gaurav Chauhan, Vidyadhar Pegu, Chingkheimba Singha and Hussain Md Iqbal Laskar tallied two gold medals each.

In the veterans’ events, Yaswant Sinha won double gold while in the mothers’ group, Pyara Begum Laskar won two gold medals.

In the children’s group, Jyoti Prakash Das and Abhisekh Nath annexed two top positions each. In the veterans’ marathon event, Town Club’s Jatindra Mohan Das, Malugram Club’s Yaswant Gupta and Town Club’s Nanda Dulal Roy secured the first three positions respectively.