The Telegraph
Friday , February 28 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Electronic stun hosts

- Photojournalists register win

media cricket

Guwahati, Feb. 27: Electronic Media XI and Assam Photo Journalists Association registered convincing victories in the DynaRoof ASJA Media Cup T20 Quadrangular Cricket Tournament, organised by Assam Sports Journalists Association, at Nehru Stadium here today.

In the inaugural match of the tournament, Electronic Media XI got the better of hosts Assam Sports Journalists Association by 70 runs.

Put in to bat, Electronic Media batsmen piled up 160 runs for the loss of nine wickets in the stipulated overs. Pranjal Sarma topscored with 40 runs while Kishore Talukdar chipped in with 30 runs. Bidyut Kalita scalped three wickets conceding 34 runs and Subodh Malla Baruah picked up two for 27 runs.

Chasing a stiff target, the hosts could only manage 90 runs for the loss of nine wickets in their regular overs.

Rajdeep Das topscored for ASJA with 21 runs while Partha Chakraborty chipped in with 18 runs. Pranab Das picked up three wickets for nine runs while Bitu Mahanta took two wickets for 21 runs.

In the second match of the day, Assam Photo Journalists Association defeated Guwahati Press XI by eight wickets. Electing to bat, Guwahati Press XI put up 110 runs for the loss of eight wickets. Moidul Islam scored 37 runs while Pranjal Baruah contributed 20 runs. Biju Boro scalped three wickets for 14 runs.

In reply, Assam Photo Journalists Association eased past the target losing two wickets. The side rode on Dasarath Deka’s unbeaten 53 runs.

The tournament was inaugurated in the presence of title sponsor DynaRoof vice-president, sales and marketing, Manjeet Dutt.