The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Bongaigaon make it to final

Guwahati, Feb. 26: Bongaigaon sealed a place in the final of the Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy senior inter-district cricket plate group tournament by the virtue of first innings lead against Lakhimpur in the first semi-final at Barsapara Cricket Stadium here today.

Resuming their second innings at an overnight score of five for no loss, they went on to put up a total of 197 runs for the loss of nine wickets by the end of the third day’s play. Earlier, put to bat, Bongaigaon scored 248 runs in their first innings while Lakhimpur missed a first innings lead by a narrow margin as they could manage 244 runs in 83.4 overs.

Opener Anmol Prasad topscored for Bongaigaon with a steady knock of 74 runs off 179 deliveries, which included eight hits into the fence and two over the rope, while Govinda Rajbongshi was the other notable contributor with 37 runs, which featured four boundaries. Arindom Ghosh chipped in with 31 runs off 79 balls, which included three fours.

Left-arm spinner Bikram Chhetri was the pick of the Lakhimpur bowlers with four wickets in his kitty for 50 runs off his 32 overs, which also included 13 maiden overs, while Jitumoni Kalita scalped two wickets giving away 65 runs off 18 overs. Amar Alam, Prem Pradhan and Gautam Chetri picked up one wicket each.

With the win, Bongaigaon have also booked a place for themselves in the elite group of the tournament in its next edition.

Karimganj will meet Morigaon in the second semi-final at the same venue from Friday.