The Telegraph
Wednesday , February 26 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

First-innings lead for Bongaigaon

Guwahati, Feb. 25: Bongaigaon took a marginal, yet vital, four-run first-innings lead against Lakhimpur on the second day of their three-day Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy senior inter-district cricket plate group tournament first semi-final match at Barsapara Cricket Stadium here today.

Put in to bat, Bongaigaon were all out for 248 in the first innings yesterday and Lakhimpur almost reached it this afternoon before being all out for 244 in 83.4 overs.

Bongaigaon were five for no loss in four overs at close today.

Rudra Pradhan led the Lakhimpur charge from the front with a steady 77- run knock, laced with 11 hits to the ropes.

Rajesh Bedi (39, 7x4), Prem Pradhan (37, 6x4) and Hafijuddin Ahmed (22, 3x4) were the other notable scorers for Lakhimpur.

Amit Basfor, who hauled four for 42 off 22 overs, was the pick of the Bongaigaon bowlers.

Teammates Jyoti Prasad Thakuria and Manish Das chipped in with two each for 34 and 53 runs respectively.

Anmol Prasad and Fazlur Rahman were at the stumps on an unbeaten five and nought respectively at the end of the day’s play.

MCA cricket

Oscar batsman Bobby Singh led the charge with a 56-run knock to beat Youth Welfare Club, Patsoi by 106 runs in the first MCA Plate Tournament at Luwangpokpa cricket stadium today.

Veteran T-20: Reyoungster registered a two-run-victory over Model Club in the second T-20 Manipur Veteran Cricket Tournament 2013-14 at Langthabal ground.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Pro-permit groups allay fear
  • Training for co-operative students
  • Ceiling set for rubber cultivation
  • Royals trounce Green Valley
  • Traders fret over Dhubri robberies
  • Kisama hosts Thai princess for Angami fest
  • Principal seeks aid from police
  • Khurai ride into last four
  • Counting to district councils to be held on Thursday
  • Outrage in Assembly over attacks
  • Rahul plea for inclusive growth
  • Parties mull alliance
  • First-innings lead for Bongaigaon