The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Deepak drives Dibrugarh ahead

Nuruddin trophy

Guwahati, Feb. 21: Dibrugarh rode piggyback a splendid display by left-arm spinner Deepak Gohain to take a first-innings lead of 28 runs against Goalpara in their Nuruddin Ahmed Trophy Senior Inter-District elite group cricket quarter-finals match at Nehru Stadium here today.

Despite being all out for 125 runs in their first innings, Dibrugarh came down hard on their Goalpara counterparts by bundling them out for 97 runs in 43.5 overs. Deepak Gohain was the wrecker-in-chief with seven scalps for 34 runs off his 22 overs. The first day saw 23 wickets tumble.

Earlier, Dibrugarh, electing to bat, failed to utilise the conditions as the side was bundled out in 35 overs. Opener Utpal Deka scored 27 runs off 45 balls. Salim Ahmed made 27 runs off 40 deliveries.

Pusparaj Sharma was the pick of the Goalpara bowlers, with four wickets for 33 runs off 12 overs while Dhrubajyoti Das scalped three wickets going for 20 runs.

In reply, Goalpara opener Bishal Magor scored 21 runs while Naba Nath contributed 19 runs. Deepak Gohainís 22 overs included 11 maidens while off spinner Prasanta Sonowal scalped two wickets for eight runs.

The same saga continued for Dibrugarh in their second innings as three wickets fell for 27 runs in nine overs. Rituparna Phatowali was batting on nine while Amit Boro was at the crease with four runs when the stumps were drawn for the day. Pusparaj Sharma picked up two wickets four runs while Jyoti Medhi took one wicket for nine runs.