The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Manipur cops enter semis

sepak takraw

Imphal, Feb. 14: Manipur Police Sports Club (C) moved into the semi-finals of the first Young Social Service Union Menís Open Trophy Cash Prize Sepak Takraw Championship, defeating the host team yesterday, at Sagolband Nepra Menjor Mamang Leikai in Imphal West.

Manipur Police (C) registered four victories en route to the final.

Apart from yesterdayís win, the policemen beat MPSC (A), ALSA and Public Union Club on the way.

Manipur Police Sports Club (A) team also registered two wins, defeating Public Union Club and ALSA.

Hosts Young Social Service Union registered their first win, defeating LKYDA, while Ibudhou Marjing Social Union Club beat LKYDA.

SAI RC has pulled out of the tournament, leaving eight teams in the championship.

MCA plate cricket: Thangmeiband batsman Sunil Singhís half-century enabled his teamís 25-run victory over Western Cricket Association in the first MCA Plate Tournament at Luwangpokpa cricket stadium today.

Sunil Singh was named Man of the Match for his 50-run knock.

Model Club will take on Oscar Paona Bazar tomorrow.

Inter-state T-20: Manipur registered a 10-wicket victory over Arunachal Pradesh to sail into the final of the first Inter-State T-20 under-25 Cricket Championship organised by Nagaland CA at Sovina cricket ground, Dimapur, today.

Arunachal Pradesh set a target of 140 runs for 10 wickets and in reply, Manipur reached the target in 14.4 overs.

Coaching camp: A Co-ever India Football Coaching jointly organised by Th. Birchandra Singh Football Academy, Lion Club, of Leimarol Imphal and Co-ever Coaching India got under way at Tabungkhok in Imphal West.

A womenís football team from Tibet arrived in Imphal to participate in the three-day TBSFAís Ladies Spring Soccer Festival at Tabungkhok from today.

They will play the Manipur womenís veteran team and Filmstar womenís team.

Mega marathon: United People Frontís eighth Mega Marathon Manipur, to be flagged off on Sunday, has registered the participation of 1,500 runners till today.

The marathon will be flagged off from Khuman Lampak sports complex at 7.30am.