The Telegraph
Saturday , February 1 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Headquarters Zone lift title

FCI cricket

Guwahati, Jan. 31: Headquarters Zone annexed the 43rd All-India Food Corporation of India Inter-Zonal Cricket Tournament trophy defeating West Zone by a convincing margin of 64 runs in the final at Nehru Stadium here today.

Batting first, Headquarters Zone put up a competitive total of 159 runs for the loss of five wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

The side rode piggyback on opener Mayank Sidana’s fine unbeaten knock of 94 runs off 70 deliveries while Nitin Saini chipped in with 24 runs off 22 balls. Chetan Sharma was the other notable contributor with 18 runs off six deliveries.

Nitin Salunke of West scalped two wickets conceding 16 runs off his allotted four overs while Krutik Hangwadi, Shiv Jaiswal and Siddesh Kinlekar picked up one wicket each.

In reply, West Zone failed to inch closer to their title dreams with frequent fall of wickets, leading them being bundled out for 95 runs in 18 overs. Only two of their batsmen made it to double figures. Opener Onkar Gurav topscored with 37 runs while Siddesh Kinlekar was the only other notable batsman with a run a ball 27.

Dhruv Shorey was the pick of the Headquarters bowlers with four wickets for 12 runs in his kitty in his allotted overs while Vinay Choudhary scalped two wickets conceding seven runs in his two overs. Rajinder Bisht, Umang Sharma and Jaideep Chauhan picked up a wicket each.

Mayank Sidana was named Man of the Tournament for his consistent show with the bat.