The Telegraph
Friday , January 31 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Governor finalises VC posts

Patna, Jan. 30: Y.C. Simhadri has been appointed the vice-chancellor of Patna University for the second time.

The names of vice-chancellors (VCs) and pro-vice-chancellors of 10 universities were finalised today at a meeting conducted at Raj Bhavan. Governor D.Y. Patil, chief minister Nitish Kumar, education minister P.K. Shahi had attended the meeting.

The names were finalised after a search committee scrutinised the resumes of more than 3,000 applicants followed by interviews.

Simhadri, the former VC of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) and Andhra Pradesh University, had joined as the VC of Patna University on November 21, 2006. He had initiated several measures for the all-round development of the university. But because of his reported “clash” with then chancellor-cum-governor R.S. Gavai, he was made to quit his office on January 21, 2008.

Ranjit Kumar Verma, a chemistry teacher with Magadh University, has been made the pro-VC of Patna University.

Mohammed Ishtiyaque, a geography teacher with Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi, has been appointed the VC of Magadh University, while Patna Science College’s geology teacher Kriteshwar Prasad has been given the pro-VC’s post of the university.

For JP University, Chhapra, Dwijendra K. Gupta, a biochemistry teacher at Allahabad University, has been appointed the new VC. Pandit Prabhakar Palande, a commerce teacher at Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University, Nashik, will be the new VC of Babasaheb Bhim Rao Ambedkar Bihar University, Muzaffarpur, while Neelima Sinha, a philosophy teacher with Magadh University, has been selected for the pro-VC’s post.

S. Kushwaha, an agriculture economics teacher at Banaras Hindu University will be the VC of LN Mithila University, Darbhanga.

Patna College principal Rash Bihari Prasad Singh has been appointed VC of Nalanda Open University, Patna, while Ram Prakash Upadhyaya, the head of the botany department at Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University (TMBU), will be the new pro-VC of Nalanda Open University.

Rama Shanker Dubey, the head of biochemistry department at BHU, will be the new VC of TMBU. The pro-VC’s post has gone to Awadh Kishore Roy, another botany teacher from TMBU. Mohammed Azhar Hussain will be the new VC of VKS University-Ara, while botany teacher from TMBU, Leela Chand Saha, will be the pro-VC of the Ara university.

 More stories in Front Page

  • Hooch death blame on cough syrup
  • Didi's 3D: Delhi, dynasty and danga face
  • Chakka jam for Sabita tears
  • Tough times ahead for Nitish
  • Tax to hike cable TV rates
  • Govt fund whip on record dance
  • Death sentence for Ulfa chief
  • Time to spruce up your acting skills
  • 4 new tribes get counted
  • Sonia ignores CM's attack
  • Rehab issue sparks protest at Posco site
  • Nine held after mid-sea clash
  • Governor finalises VC posts
  • Naysayer ignominy
  • Tuki, Gogoi seek probe into killings
  • Karat eyes tie-up with BJD