The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Haze over Shillong LS nominee

Shillong, Jan. 28: A consensus is eluding the Congress on its candidate from the Shillong parliamentary seat with names of sitting party legislators floating around.

Three Congress leaders — sitting MP Vincent Pala, former legislator Charles Pyngrope and John F. Kharshiing — had applied for the party ticket.

A source today said while a consensus for the Shillong seat is still a distant dream, out of eight applicants for the Tura parliamentary ticket, Daryl William Cheran Momin, grandson of Capt.Williamson A. Sangma who was Meghalaya’s first chief minister, appears to be emerging as the frontrunner.

Further, the source said that apart from Pala, Pyngrope and Kharshiing, Congress leaders are looking for other candidates for the party ticket. Of the three, talks are mainly centred on Pala and Kharshiing.

“There has been no unanimity among party leaders and legislators on who should be the consensus candidate for the Shillong seat. Efforts are on to ensure that the choice for the candidate should be based on unanimity to ensure victory,” the source said.

There were some legislators not in favour of Pala being the candidate anymore, the source said.

“However, there are indications that party workers in most of the blocks are still with the sitting MP,” the source said, adding that even Kharshiing is not being fancied by many within the party.

Another source said that the party leadership is in talks to prop up the name of sitting Congress legislator from Mylliem constituency, Ronnie V. Lyngdoh, as a possible candidate for the Lok Sabha polls.

The name of urban affairs minister M. Ampareen Lyngdoh had also been doing the rounds, the source said.

Last week, AICC secretary Vijay Laxmi Sadho camped here to seek the opinion of legislators and leaders on those who had applied the ticket for the Shillong and Tura seats. Sadho will prepare a report, which will be sent to the screening committee headed by Union minister of state in the PMO, V. Narayanasamy.