The Telegraph e-Paper
The Telegraph
CIMA Gallary

Youths, Model in draw

Imphal, Jan. 28: Youth Welfare Club, Patsoi, and Model Club, Chingamakha, settled for a drawn series, sharing the trophy for the L. Brajamani Singh Trophy for the under-19 two-day double innings cricket match at Luwangpokpa cricket ground today.

In the second match of the double innings, Model Club won the toss and decided to bat, making 84 for 10 from 40 overs. Tejkumar Singh topscored with 36 runs in the first innings.

YWC Patsoi bowler Priyobrata claimed four wickets while Somit took two wickets.

In the second innings, Model Club put up 88 runs for 10 wickets from 48 overs with Premchand and Indrajit hitting 25 runs and 24 runs respectively.

YWC bowler Priyobrata again claimed four wickets and Sumanta took three wickets.

Earlier, replying to Model Club’s first innings, YWC Patsoi piled up 158 for 10 from 46.2 overs with Kiran on 34 not out and Bidash with 34 runs.

In the second innings, YWC Patsoi batsman Nichol with nine runs and Santosh with four runs, remained not out to settle for a draw.

In the first match of the double innings on Friday, Model Club posted 156 runs and 104 runs.

In reply, YWC Patsoi managed to put up 95 and 199 respectively, facing a 61-run defeat to Model Club.

Equestrian meet: The 11th Director-General Assam Rifles Cup State Equestrian Championship will be held from February 1-4 at Mapal Kangjeibung here, announced Manipur Equestrian Association president S. Joykumar at a press conference at Mapal Kangjeibung today.

Around 90 riders will participate in the meet, for which they had procured 10 big horses, Joykumar added.

The organising secretary of the meet, Ch. Priyoranjan Singh, along with officials of Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association, also spoke onthe occasion.

Footbal squad: The AMFA has informed that the Manipur team participating in the 68th National Football Championship for Santosh Trophy (NE Zone) 2014 in Aizawl will also represent the state in the T. Ao DoNER Football Tournament in Aizawl from February 5-15.

Team: L. Premkumar, Thangtinpao Khongsai, Ch. Kumar, S.T. Thangthang Kom, Y. Krishnakumar, Th. Itomba, Daniel L. Hmar, A. Herojit, Md Sohail Shah, Ngamginthang Kuki, Md Sahidur, L. Gouro, Imran Khan, Md Riyash Khan, N. Sushil, P. Christopher Kamei, Kh. Naoton, Th. Premkumar, L. Sanatomba and Kh. Satish.