The Telegraph
Saturday , January 25 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

National science meet

Dibrugarh, Jan. 24: Dibrugarh University will host the National Space Science Symposium from January 29, after a gap of 28 years.

The four-day symposium, sponsored by Indian Space Research Organisation in association with the Astronomical Society of India, will provide a platform to present results of experiments in the areas of atmospheric science, space science, planetary exploration and astronomy and astrophysics.

A.S. Kiran Kumar, the director of Space Application Centre, Ahmedabad, will inaugurate the function.

A. Kembhavi, the director of Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune, a member of the Space Commission and the president of the Astronomical Society of India, will also be present in the session.

J.N. Goswami, the director of Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, will be present at the function as well.

“The symposium will comprise one popular lecture, three inter-disciplinary lectures, three special plenary sessions and five parallel sessions,” said P.K. Bhuyan, the convener of the symposium.

Dibrugarh University vice-chancellor Alak Kumar Buragohain said the university was proud to hold the symposium . Around 400 delegates from all over India will attend.

Following the inaugural session, the special plenary session on the New Space Missions of India — Mars Orbiter Mission, will start in which Prakash Chauhan and R.P. Singh from Space Application Centre, Ahmedabad, and Anil Bharadwaj from Space Physics Laboratory will deliver lectures highlighting various aspects of the mission.

J.N. Goswami will deliver the popular lecture on the origin and evolution of the solar system.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Gogoi mulls Sabha demands
  • Zunheboto clash death toll rises
  • Panel move on Upper House
  • National science meet
  • Prisoners'
  • Poll process begins in Assam
  • Cong renominates Wansuk for RS
  • Calendar dedicated to spirit of resilience
  • Elders set shining example
  • Khurai club enter semi-finals
  • DY365 beat Gana Adhikar
  • Bud Blue in final
  • Imphal youth held for rape
  • Headman
  • Jayanta lifts trophy
  • SC notice on chieftains' claim
  • Recovered
  • Union wants PM, CM to come clean
  • Alarming rise in ATM
  • Govt rapped over coal mine accident