The Telegraph
Thursday , January 23 , 2014
CIMA Gallary

Prag, DY365 win

Guwahati, Jan. 22: Prag Channel and DY365 proceeded into the quarter-finals of the Inter-Media T20 Cricket Tournament, winning their respective matches at the Judges Field here today.

In the first match, Prag Channel had to toil hard to snatch a 27-run victory against a spirited Assam Sports Journalists Association.

Batting first, Prag batsmen put up 142 runs for the loss of nine wickets in 15 overs.

Bhargab Baishya topscored with 55 runs off 36 balls while Dhruba Kalita chipped in with 21 runs off 14 deliveries. Asish Malakar of ASJA picked up three wickets conceding 21 runs off his three overs while Kalyan Gogoi and Kausav Baruah bagged two wickets each.

In reply, ASJA managed 115 runs for the loss of one wicket in their stipulated 15 overs. Rajdeep Das scored 40 runs off 36 deliveries while Rajkumar Sharma remained unbeaten on 39 off 43 balls. Asish Malakar chipped in with 17 runs off 11 deliveries.

Prasenjit Sarkar scalped the lone wicket conceding 20 runs in his quota of three overs.

Despite the defeat, ASJA remained in contention for a quarter-finals berth as a wild card entry for a better run rate. The second match of the day witnessed DY365 ease past Doordarshan Kendra, Guwahati by 73 runs.

Batting first, DY365 put up 138 runs for the loss of five wickets.

Rabin Das topscored with 70 runs off 35 balls while Ankur Borthakur chipped in with an unbeaten 30 runs.

Dipak Boro of DDK scalped two wickets while Arindam Borah picked up one wicket.Chasing the target, Doordarshan Kendra were bundled out for 65 runs.

Biki Baruah scored 19 runs while Manikut Medhi contributed 14 runs. Rabin Das and Naba Kalita bagged two wickets each. Asomiya Pratidin will play Gana Adhikar in the last pre-quarters match tomorrow.

 More stories in Northeast

  • Cornea
  • Akhil threatens a Robin Hood act
  • Mukul aid for boy
  • Centre mulls sea route for foodgrain
  • Double crowns for Siddharth
  • Restrictions on principals
  • Congress meet to curb dissent
  • BSS focus on kids' literature
  • Cops on people contact bid
  • Congress heartburn in both LS seats
  • NE looks at surplus power
  • Mukul asks people to ignore militant diktat
  • Purno not my mentor: CM
  • Demand for Bengali candidate for RS polls
  • Khurai club enter pre-quarters
  • Shahid Minar on top
  • Highway tag sought for 360km road link
  • Artist carves ideas on wood
  • After dharna, rush to help
  • Kashmiri shikara ride in heart of Guwahati
  • Glare on mushrooming of schools
  • Prag, DY365 win
  • Meet on Garo hills situation
  • Tea garden manager released